

Distr.: General 2 March 2021

Original: English

Seventy-sixth session Item 119 (b) of the preliminary list* Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 158 and 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

Rule 158

The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions consisting of eighteen members.

Rule 159

The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session.

2. The current membership of the Committee is as follows:

Syed Yawar Ali (Pakistan)* Jakub Chmielewski (Poland)* Cheikh Tidiane Dème (Senegal)** Gordon Eckersley (Australia)** Bernardo Greiver del Hoyo (Uruguay)** Michael Holtsch (Germany)*** Ji-sun Jun (Republic of Korea)*** Vadim Laputin (Russian Federation)*** Lin Shan (China)*** Robert Ngei Mule (Kenya)*

* A/76/50.





Mohamed Mahmoud **Ould El Ghaouth** (Mauritania)** Toshiro **Ozawa** (Japan)* Tõnis **Saar** (Estonia)* Brett Dennis **Schaefer** (United States of America)* Ugo **Sessi** (Italy)** Henrique da **Silveira Sardinha Pinto** (Brazil)*** Alejandro **Torres Lépori** (Argentina)** Steve **Townley** (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)***

* Term of office expires on 31 December 2021.

3. Given that the terms of office of Mr. Ali, Mr. Chmielewski, Mr. Mule, Mr. Ozawa, Mr. Saar and Mr. Schaefer will expire on 31 December 2021, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its seventy-sixth session, to appoint six persons to fill those vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 2022.

4. The established practice for the distribution of seats in the Committee on Contributions among regional groups is as follows: African States, three; Asian and Pacific States, four; Eastern European States, three; Latin American and Caribbean States, three; and Western European and other States, five. The Assembly may wish to maintain the same pattern of distribution at the seventy-sixth session.

5. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the seventy-sixth session.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2022.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 2023.