

Distr.: General 8 February 2021

Original: English

2021 session 23 July 2020–22 July 2021 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 14 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services is composed of 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.

2. Under the terms of General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 14 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2022, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2021 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Belgium, Botswana, Cameroon, Gambia, Germany, Greece, India, Mexico, Netherlands, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, South Africa, Ukraine and Vanuatu.

3. The election will be held at the management meetings of the Council, on 20 April 2021.

- 4. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Five members from African States;
 - (b) Three members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (d) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.

5. The membership of the Executive Board in 2021 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Please recycle 🖉

Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2021

Eight members from African States

Algeria (2023), Botswana* (2021), Cameroon* (2021), Gambia* (2021), Nigeria (2023), Rwanda* (2021), Somalia (2022), South Africa* (2021)

Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh (2023), China (2022), India* (2021), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2023), Kuwait (2022), Republic of Korea* (2021), Vanuatu* (2021)

Four members from Eastern European States

Bulgaria (2022), Czechia (2022), Russian Federation (2023), Ukraine* (2021)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Colombia (2022), Cuba (2023), Guatemala (2023), Mexico* (2021), Peru (2022)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Belgium^{*,1} (2021), Denmark (2022), Finland (2023), Germany^{*,2} (2021), Greece^{*,3} (2021), Japan (2022), Netherlands^{*} (2021), New Zealand (2023), Norway (2022), Spain (2023), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2023), United States of America (2022)

^{*} Retiring member.

¹ Replaced Canada as from 1 January 2021.

² Replaced Austria as from 1 January 2021.

³ Replaced Italy as from 1 January 2021.