United Nations E/2021/9/Add.10



## **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 8 February 2021

Original: English

2021 session

23 July 2020–22 July 2021

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# **Election of 10 members of the Committee for the United Nations Population Award**

#### Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Committee for the United Nations Population Award is composed of 10 members elected from among States Members of the United Nations with due regard to equitable geographical representation and the need to include those Member States that have made contributions towards the Award.
- 2. Pursuant to article 4 of the regulations governing the Award contained in the annex to General Assembly resolution 36/201, the Economic and Social Council is to elect the 10 members of the Committee for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2022.
- 3. The election will be held at the management meetings of the Council, on 20 April 2021.
- 4. In accordance with an agreement reached by the Council in 1982 (see E/1982/SR.54 and E/1982/SR.58), the members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
  - (a) Three members from African States;
  - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
  - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
  - (d) Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) One member from Western European and other States.
- 5. The current membership of the Committee is listed in the annex to the present note.





#### Annex

### **Committee for the United Nations Population Award**

(10 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2021

Three members from African States

Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Liberia

Three members from Asia-Pacific States<sup>1</sup>

Fiji, Indonesia, Lebanon

One member from Eastern European States

Romania

Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States<sup>1</sup>

Panama, Trinidad and Tobago

One member from Western European and other States

Iceland

2/2 21-01581

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> One seat to rotate between Asia-Pacific States and Latin American and Caribbean States every three years. In 2018, the rotating seat was allocated to Asia-Pacific States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019. In 2021, the rotating seat will be allocated to Latin American and Caribbean States for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2022, thus giving Latin American and Caribbean States three seats and Asia-Pacific States two seats.