United Nations E/2021/9/Add.5



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 8 February 2021

Original: English

2021 session

23 July 2020–22 July 2021

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 17 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN-Women) has 41 members, elected in accordance with General Assembly resolution 64/289 and Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35 and decision 2010/261.
- 2. Under the terms of its resolution 2010/35, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at the management meetings to be held on 20 April 2021, 17 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2022, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2021 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Angola, Bangladesh, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Equatorial Guinea, Georgia, Ghana, Hungary, India, Kenya, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal and Saudi Arabia.
- 3. The 17 members are to be elected from the regional category, in accordance with Council resolution 2010/35, according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Five members from African States;
 - (b) Five members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Two members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Executive Board in 2021 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

(41 members; three-year term)¹

Membership in 2021

Members from the regional category, in accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35

Ten members from African States

Angola* (2021), Burundi (2022), Equatorial Guinea* (2021), Eswatini (2022), Ghana* (2021), Kenya* (2021), Madagascar (2022), Morocco* (2021), Nigeria (2022), Sierra Leone (2022)

Ten members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh* (2021), China (2022), India* (2021), Japan (2022), Kazakhstan (2022), Lebanon (2022), Mongolia* (2021), Nepal* (2021), Republic of Korea (2022), Saudi Arabia* (2021)

Four members from Eastern European States

Georgia* (2021), Hungary* (2021), Lithuania (2022), Russian Federation (2022)

Six members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina (2022), Brazil (2022), Chile* (2021), Colombia* (2021), Cuba* (2021), Mexico (2022)

Five members from Western European and other States

Belgium*,2 (2021), Canada*,3 (2021), Germany (2022), New Zealand (2022), Switzerland (2022)

Members from contributing countries

Four members from the top 10 voluntary core contributing countries, in accordance with paragraph 61 (a) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

Finland (2022), Sweden (2022), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2022), United States of America (2022)

Two members from the top 10 voluntary core contributing countries not members of the Development Assistance Committee of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, in accordance with paragraph 61 (b) of General Assembly resolution 64/289

Senegal (2022), Turkey (2022)

2/2 21-01621

^{*} Retiring member.

¹ See Economic and Social Council resolution 2010/35.

² Replaced Ireland as from 1 January 2020.

³ Replaced Turkey as from 1 January 2020.