United Nations E/2021/9/Add.3



## **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 8 February 2021

Original: English

2021 session

July 2020–22 July 2021

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of 14 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

#### Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund is made up of 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. Under the terms of General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 14 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations, or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2022, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2021 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Australia, Bangladesh, Benin, Burundi, Cameroon, Djibouti, Finland, Germany, Japan, Lithuania, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco and Pakistan.
- 3. The election will be held at the management meetings of the Council, on 20 April 2021.
- 4. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
  - (a) Five members from African States;
  - (b) Three members from Asia-Pacific States;
  - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
  - (d) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 5. The membership of the Executive Board in 2021 is listed in the annex to the present note.





#### **Annex**

### **Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund**

(36 members; three-year term)

#### Membership in 2021

#### **Eight members from African States**

Benin\* (2021), Burundi\* (2021), Cameroon\* (2021), Djibouti\* (2021), Ethiopia (2023), Liberia (2023), Morocco\* (2021), Zimbabwe (2022)

#### Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh\* (2021), China (2022), Kazakhstan (2023), Mongolia\* (2021), Pakistan\* (2021), Republic of Korea (2023), Yemen (2022)

#### Four members from Eastern European States

Estonia (2022), Lithuania\* (2021), Russian Federation (2022), Slovakia (2023)

#### Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina (2023), Costa Rica (2023), Cuba (2022), Mexico\* (2021), Paraguay (2022)

#### Twelve members from Western European and other States

Australia\*,1 (2021), Belgium (2023), Finland\*,2 (2021), Germany\* (2021), Italy³ (2022), Japan\* (2021), Netherlands (2023), New Zealand (2023), Norway (2022), Switzerland (2022), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2022) United States of America (2023)

\* Retiring member.

2/2 21-01572

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Replaced Spain as from 1 January 2021.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Replaced Canada as from 1 January 2021.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Replaced Ireland as from 1 January 2021.