

Distr.: General 7 January 2021

Original: English

Note by the President of the Security Council

1. Pursuant to paragraph 4 (b) of the note by the President of the Security Council dated 30 October 1998 (S/1998/1016) and paragraphs 111 to 114 of the annex to the note by the President of the Council dated 30 August 2017 (S/2017/507), and after consultations among the members of the Council, it was agreed to elect the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of subsidiary bodies for the period ending 31 December 2021 as follows:

Security Council Committee pursuant to resolution 751 (1992) concerning Somalia

Chair:

Geraldine Byrne Nason (Ireland)

Vice-Chairs: Tunisia and Viet Nam

Security Council Committee pursuant to resolutions 1267 (1999), 1989 (2011) and 2253 (2015) concerning Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant (Da'esh), Al-Qaida and associated individuals, groups, undertakings and entities

Chair:

Trine Heimerback (Norway)

Vice-Chairs: Russian Federation and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1373 (2001) concerning counter-terrorism

Chair:

Tarek Ladeb (Tunisia)¹

Vice-Chairs: France, India and Russian Federation

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1518 (2003)

Chair:

Sven Jürgenson (Estonia)

Vice-Chair: Norway

¹ India will be the Chair of the Committee until the end of 2022, after Tunisia leaves the Chair.





Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1533 (2004) concerning the Democratic Republic of the Congo

Chair:

Abdou Abarry (Niger)

Vice-Chairs: Estonia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1540 (2004)

Chair:

Juan Ramón de la Fuente Ramírez (Mexico)

Vice-Chairs: India, Niger and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1591 (2005) concerning the Sudan

Chair:

Sven Jürgenson (Estonia)

Vice-Chairs: Ireland and Viet Nam

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1636 (2005)

Chair:

Dang Dinh Quy (Viet Nam)

Vice-Chairs: Estonia and Norway

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006)

Chair:

Mona Juul (Norway)

Vice-Chairs: Estonia and Tunisia

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1970 (2011) concerning Libya

Chair:

T. S. Tirumurti (India)

Vice-Chair: Ireland

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1988 (2011)

Chair:

T. S. Tirumurti (India)

Vice-Chairs: Russian Federation and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau

Chair:

Tarek Ladeb (Tunisia)

Vice-Chair: Kenya

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2127 (2013) concerning the Central African Republic

Chair:

Abdou Abarry (Niger)

Vice-Chair: Viet Nam

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2140 (2014)

Chair:

Inga Rhonda King (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines)

Vice-Chair: Estonia

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2206 (2015) concerning South Sudan

Chair:

Dang Dinh Quy (Viet Nam)

Vice-Chairs: Ireland and Mexico

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2374 (2017) concerning Mali

Chair:

Juan Ramón de la Fuente Ramírez (Mexico)

Vice-Chair: Kenya

Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations

Chair:

Tarek Ladeb (Tunisia)

Vice-Chair: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa

Chair:

Martin Kimani (Kenya)

Vice-Chair: Niger

Working Group established pursuant to resolution 1566 (2004)

Chair:

Abdou Abarry (Niger)

Vice-Chairs: France, India and Russian Federation

Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict

Chair:

Mona Juul (Norway)

Vice-Chair: Niger²

² Mexico will be the Vice-Chair of the Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict until the end of 2022, after the Niger concludes its term as Vice-Chair.

Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions

Chair:

Inga Rhonda King (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines)

Vice-Chair: Estonia

Informal Working Group on International Tribunals

Chair:

Dang Dinh Quy (Viet Nam)

Vice-Chair: Kenya

2. Pursuant to paragraph 3 of the note by the President of the Security Council dated 16 January 2016 (S/2016/44), and after consultations among the members of the Council, it was agreed to select the facilitator for the period ending 31 December 2021 as follows:

Implementation of Security Council resolution 2231 (2015)

Facilitator:

Geraldine Byrne Nason (Ireland)