

Distr.: General 15 September 2015

Chinese, English and Russian only

Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

Working Group on the Trans-Asian Railway Network

Fourth meeting

Bangkok, 23-24 November 2015 Item 5 of the provisional agenda*

Consideration of proposals for amending the Intergovernmental Agreement on the Trans-Asian Railway Network

Proposals for amending the Intergovernmental Agreement on the Trans-Asian Railway Network

Note by the secretariat

Summary

The present document contains proposals made by Bangladesh, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Russian Federation and Thailand, which are Parties to the Intergovernmental Agreement on the Trans-Asian Railway Network, to amend annex I thereof.

The Working Group may wish to consider adopting the proposals.

I. Introduction

- 1. The Intergovernmental Agreement on the Trans-Asian Railway Network entered into force on 11 June 2009, that is, 90 days after the requisite number of States had ratified, accepted or approved it. Currently, 18 member States are Parties to the Agreement, namely, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Georgia, India, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Uzbekistan and Viet Nam.
- 2. In accordance with article 6(1) of the Agreement, the Working Group on the Trans-Asian Railway Network was established to consider the implementation of the Agreement and any proposed amendments. Articles 7, 8 and 9 of the Agreement describe the procedure for amending the main text and the two annexes thereto. Accordingly, the secretariat has informed the member States of the scheduled date of the fourth meeting of the Working Group and requested the Parties to the Agreement to submit proposals for consideration by the Working Group.



E/ESCAP/TARN/WG(4)/L.1.

3. Bangladesh, the Islamic Republic of Iran, the Russian Federation and Thailand have proposed amendments to annex I to the Agreement, as outlined below. In accordance with article 8(5) of the Agreement, the secretariat circulated the text of the proposed amendments from the Parties to all members of the Working Group at least 45 days before the Working Group meeting.

II. Proposal by Bangladesh

4. In conformity with article 8(4) of the Agreement, Bangladesh has proposed an amendment as described hereafter:

On the Darsana – Gundum line

*Replace

Tongi (junction)

Dhaka

With

Tongi (junction)

Dhaka – Narayanganj – [Mawa – Bhanga – Narail – Jessore] – Benapol (border station) – (India)

III. Proposal by the Islamic Republic of Iran

5. In conformity with article 8(4) of the Agreement, the Islamic Republic of Iran has proposed an amendment as described hereafter:

On the Razi – Sarakhs line

Replace

Garmsar (junction)

**Bandar-e-Amirabad (ferry terminal) (ferry link to Caspian sea ports in Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Russian Federation and Turkmenistan)

With

Garmsar (junction)

**Sari (junction) – Gorgan – Incheboroun (border station)

\$\mathbb{L}\$ Sari (junction) – Bandar-e-Amirabad (ferry terminal) (ferry link to Caspian sea ports in Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Russian Federation

and Turkmenistan)

IV. Proposal by the Russian Federation

On the Krasnoe - Nakhodka line

6. In conformity with article 8(4) of the Agreement, the Russian Federation has proposed an amendment as described hereafter:

Replace

Baranovski

(junction)

→ Khasan (border station and break-of-gauge)

– (Tumangang, Democratic People's Republic of Korea)

2 B15-01047

With

Baranovski (junction)

- Malakhino (junction) Khasan (border station and break-of-gauge) (Tumangang, Democratic People's Republic of Korea)
 - J. Malakhino (junction) Kamyshovaya (border station and break-of-gauge) (China)

V. Proposal by Thailand

7. In conformity with article 8(4) of the Agreement, Thailand has proposed two amendments as described hereafter:

On the Nongkhai – Padang Besar line

Replace

Banphachi (junction)

- → Nakhonsawan (junction) Denchai (junction) Chiangmai
 - Ly [Nakhonsawan Mae Sod (border station) (Myawadi, Myanmar)]
 - Ly [Denchai Chiangrai Mae Sai (border station) (Tachilek, Myanmar)]

With

Banphachi (junction)

- → Nakhonsawan (junction) Denchai (junction) Chiangmai
 - Ly [Nakhonsawan Mae Sod (border station) (Myawadi, Myanmar)]
 - Ly [Denchai Chiangrai Chiang Khong (border station) (Lao People's Democratic Republic)]

Replace

Bangkok – Bang Sue station (junction)

With

Bangkok – Bang Sue station (junction)

B15-01047