

Economic and Social Council

Distr.: Limited 29 May 2019

Original: English

Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

Seventy-fifth session

Bangkok, 27-31 May 2019

Agenda item 11

Adoption of the report of the Commission

Draft report

Organization of the seventy-fifth session of the Commission

A. Attendance and organization of work

- 1. The seventy-fifth session of the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) was held at the United Nations Conference Centre in Bangkok from 27 to 31 May 2019.
- 2. The session was attended by representatives of the following members and associate members:

Members

Afghanistan

Armenia

Australia

Azerbaijan

Bangladesh

Bhutan

Brunei Darussalam

Cambodia

China

Democratic People's Republic of Korea

Fiji

France

India

Indonesia

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

Japan

Kazakhstan

Kiribati

Lao People's Democratic Republic

Malaysia

Maldives

Mongolia

Myanmar

Nauru

Nepal

Netherlands

New Zealand

Pakistan

Palau

Papua New Guinea

Philippines

Republic of Korea

Russian Federation

Samoa

Singapore

Sri Lanka

Thailand

Timor-Leste

Tonga

Turkey

Turkmenistan

Tuvalu

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

United States of America

Uzbekistan

Vanuatu

Viet Nam

Associate members

Hong Kong, China

Macao, China

- 3. By virtue of rule 3 of the Commission's rules of procedure, representatives of Austria, Canada, Israel, Italy, Norway, Portugal, San Marino and Switzerland attended. Representatives of the European Union, the International Committee of the Red Cross and the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies also attended.
- 4. Representatives of the following intergovernmental organizations attended as observers: Asia-Pacific Telecommunity; Asian and Pacific Coconut Community; Asian Development Bank; Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation; Coordinating Committee for Geoscience Programmes in East and Southeast Asia; ESCAP/WMO Typhoon Committee; Greater Tumen Initiative; Mekong River Commission; Pacific Islands Forum secretariat; Shanghai Cooperation Organization; and Trilateral Cooperation Secretariat.
- 5. Representatives of the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction, the Office of the High Representative for the Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States, and the United Nations Environment Programme attended.
- 6. Representatives of the following United Nations specialized agencies, funds, programmes and other United Nations entities attended: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations; International Labour Organization; International Maritime Organization; International Telecommunication Union; Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS; United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women; United Nations Human Settlements Programme; United Nations Industrial Development Organization; United Nations Population Fund; United Nations Volunteers; and World Bank.

B19-00507

- 7. Observers were present from the following non-governmental organizations: Baha'i International Community; Conference of Non-Governmental Organizations in Consultative Relationship with the United Nations; International Council on Social Welfare; International Federation of Business and Professional Women; International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations; International Movement ATD Fourth World; Organization of the Families of Asia and the Pacific; Pan Pacific and South-East Asia Women's Association; and Voluntary Service Overseas.
- 8. The list of participants is available at www.unescap.org/commission/75/listOfParticipants.
- 9. In accordance with rule 13 of its rules of procedure, the Commission elected Mr. Damdin Tsogtbaatar (Mongolia) as Chair of the seventy-fifth session.
- 10. Following its past practice, the Commission decided to elect as Vice-Chairs the heads of delegations participating at the ministerial level:
 - Mr. M.A. Mannan (Bangladesh)
 - Mr. Tandi Dorji (Bhutan)
 - Mr. Ly Thuch (Cambodia)
 - Mr. Zhang Jun (China)
 - Ms. Mereseini Vuniwaqa (Fiji)
 - Mr. A.M. Fachir (Indonesia)
 - Mr. Seyed Hamid Pourmohammadi (Islamic Republic of Iran)
 - Mr. Norikazu Suzuki (Japan)
 - Mr. Mukhtar Tleuberdi (Kazakhstan)
 - Mr. Teuea Toatu (Kiribati)
 - Mr. Saleumxay Kommasith (Lao People's Democratic Republic)
 - Mr. Min Bahadur Shahi (Nepal)
 - Mr. Ernesto M. Pernia (Philippines)
 - Mr. Lee Taeho (Republic of Korea)
 - Ms. Faimalotoa Iemaima Kolotita Stowers-Ah Kau (Samoa)
 - Mr. Don Pramudwinai (Thailand)
 - Mr. Dionisio Babo Soares (Timor-Leste)
 - Mr. Fidelis Manuel Leite Magalhaes (Timor-Leste)
 - Mr. Maatia Toafa (Tuvalu)
 - Mr. Bob Loughman (Vanuatu)
- 11. The senior officials segment of the session met in a Committee of the Whole. Mr. Mahe Tupouniua (Tonga) was elected Chair and Mr. Rajneesh (India) and Mr. Agustaviano Sofjan (Indonesia) were elected Vice-Chairs of the Committee.
- 12. The Commission also constituted the Working Group on Draft Resolutions to consider the draft resolutions submitted during the session. Ms. Raushan Yesbulatova (Kazakhstan) was elected Chair and Mr. Hiroshi Kawamura (Japan) was elected Vice-Chair of the Working Group.

B. Agenda

- 13. The Commission adopted the following agenda:
 - 1. Opening of the session:
 - (a) Opening addresses;
 - (b) Election of officers;
 - (c) Adoption of the agenda.

- 2. "Empowering people and ensuring inclusiveness and equality": general debate on the theme topic.
- 3. Special Body on Least Developed, Landlocked Developing and Pacific Island Developing Countries.
- 4. Review of the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development in Asia and the Pacific:
 - (a) Asia-Pacific Forum on Sustainable Development;
 - (b) Social development;
 - (c) Environment and development;
 - (d) Disaster risk reduction;
 - (e) Energy;
 - (f) Transport;
 - (g) Macroeconomic policy, poverty reduction and financing for development;
 - (h) Trade and investment;
 - (i) Information and communications technology, science, technology and innovation;
 - (i) Statistics.
- 5. Subregional perspectives on the theme topic: "Empowering people and ensuring inclusiveness and equality".
- 6. Management issues:
 - (a) Proposed programme plan for 2020;
 - (b) Programme changes for the biennium 2018–2019;
 - (c) Overview of partnerships, extrabudgetary contributions and capacity development;
 - (d) Report on the evaluation of the Asian and Pacific Centre for Transfer of Technology.
- 7. Midpoint review of the conference structure of the Commission.
- 8. Activities of the Advisory Committee of Permanent Representatives and Other Representatives Designated by Members of the Commission.
- 9. Dates and venue of and theme topic for the seventy-sixth session of the Commission (2020).
- 10. Other matters.
- 11. Adoption of the report of the Commission.

C. Opening of the session

14. Mr. Damdin Tsogtbaatar (Mongolia) presided over the opening of the seventy-fifth session, on 27 May 2019. Video messages from Ms. Maria Fernanda Espinosa Garcés (Ecuador), President of the seventy-third session of the General Assembly, and the Secretary-General were played. The Executive

4 B19-00507

Secretary of ESCAP delivered welcome remarks and a policy statement. Mr. Baron Divavesi Waqa, President of Nauru, and Mr. Hun Sen, Prime Minister of Cambodia, addressed the Commission. Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn of Thailand delivered a special address.

D. Adoption of the report of the Commission

15. The report of the Commission was adopted at its 5th plenary meeting on 31 May 2019.

B19-00507 5