United Nations A/75/129-S/2020/615



Distr.: General 29 June 2020

Original: English

General Assembly
Seventy-fifth session
Item 118 (c) of the provisional agenda*
Elections to fill vacancies in principal organs: election of members of the International Court of Justice

Security Council Seventy-fifth year

Election of members of the International Court of Justice: list of nominations by national groups

Note by the Secretary-General

1. By a communication dated 5 February 2020 addressed on behalf of the Secretary-General to the national groups of the States parties to the Statute of the International Court of Justice, attention was drawn to the fact that the terms of office of the following five members of the Court will expire on 5 February 2021:

Judge Xue Hanqin (China); Judge Peter Tomka (Slovakia); Judge Giorgio Gaja (Italy); Judge Julia Sebutinde (Uganda); Judge Yuji Iwasawa (Japan).

- 2. In conformity with Articles 4 and 13 of the Statute of the Court, the General Assembly and the Security Council, during the seventy-fifth session of the General Assembly, will elect five judges for a period of nine years, beginning on 6 February 2021. In accordance with Article 5, paragraph 1, of the Statute of the Court, national groups were thus invited to undertake the nomination of persons in a position to accept the duties of a member of the Court and to submit such nominations to the Secretary-General no later than 24 June 2020.
- 3. In accordance with Article 7 of the Statute of the Court, the Secretary-General has the honour to submit to the General Assembly and to the Security Council a list in alphabetical order of all the persons thus nominated (see annex).
- 4. The composition of the Court and the voting procedure to be followed in the General Assembly and in the Security Council are set out in a memorandum by the Secretary-General (A/75/130-S/2020/618). The curricula vitae of the candidates appear in a document A/75/131-S/2020/619.







Annex

List of candidates nominated by national groups

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
Elias, Taoheed Olufemi (Nigeria)	Bahrain
	Greece
	Latvia
	Malta
	Nigeria
	Sweden
Iwasawa, Yuji (Japan)	Argentina
	Australia
	Austria
	Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
	Brazil
	China
	Colombia
	Czechia
	Denmark
	Estonia
	Finland
	France
	Germany
	Greece
	Guatemala
	Hungary
	Italy
	Japan
	Lao People's Democratic Republic
	Latvia
	Luxembourg
	Malaysia
	Malta
	Morocco
	Netherlands
	New Zealand

2/6 20-08602

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
	Norway
	Philippines
	Peru
	Poland
	Portugal
	Romania
	Russian Federation
	Singapore
	Slovenia
	Spain
	Sweden
	Thailand
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
	United States of America
Nolte, Georg (Germany)	Argentina
	Australia
	Austria
	Bahrain
	Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
	China
	Colombia
	Czechia
	Denmark
	Estonia
	Finland
	France
	Germany
	Greece
	Guatemala
	Hungary
	Italy
	Japan
	Latvia
	Mexico

20-08602

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
	Morocco
	Netherlands
	New Zealand
	Norway
	Peru
	Poland
	Portugal
	Russian Federation
	Slovakia
	Slovenia
	Spain
	Sweden
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Sebutinde, Julia (Uganda)	Argentina
	Denmark
	Estonia
	Italy
	Mexico
	Peru
	Poland
	Slovenia
	Finland
	Uganda
Seršić, Maja (Croatia)	Croatia
	Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
	Brazil
	Italy
	Malta
Tomka, Peter (Slovakia)	Austria
	Bahrain
	Czechia
	Finland
	France
	Germany

4/6 20-08602

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
	Guatemala
	Hungary
	Latvia
	Luxembourg
	Malta
	Mexico
	Morocco
	New Zealand
	Norway
	Russian Federation
	Singapore
	Slovakia
	Slovenia
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Ugirashebuja, Emmanuel (Rwanda)	Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
	Morocco
	Peru
	Rwanda
Xue, Hanqin (China)	Argentina
	Australia
	Bahrain
	Brazil
	China
	Colombia
	Denmark
	Dominican Republic
	France
	Germany
	Greece
	Guatemala
	Hungary
	Japan
	Mexico
	Netherlands

20-08602 5/6

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
	New Zealand
	Norway
	Pakistan
	Russian Federation
	Sierra Leone
	Singapore
	Spain
	Sweden
	Thailand
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
	United States of America

6/6 20-08602