

Distr.: General 30 June 2020 English Original: French

Letter dated 26 June 2020 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to refer to your letter dated 25 June 2020 (S/2020/581) taking note of my proposal to reappoint the 25 judges of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals.

I have received a corresponding letter from the President of the General Assembly (see annex I). Accordingly, I am proceeding with the reappointment of the 25 judges of the Mechanism. A list of the judges is set out in annex II to the present letter.

In accordance with paragraph 2 of Security Council resolution 2269 (2016) of 29 February 2016, the judges will be reappointed for a two-year term commencing on 1 July 2020 and expiring on 30 June 2022.

I will also proceed to reappoint Judge Carmel Agius (Malta) as President of the Mechanism for a new term of office from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2022.

I should be grateful if you would bring the present letter to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) António Guterres



20-08616 (E) 020720 020720

Annex I

[Original: English]

I have the honour to refer to your letter dated 19 June 2020 (S/2020/580) concerning the reappointment of 25 judges of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals.

Pursuant to article 10, paragraph 3, of the statute of the Mechanism, I am pleased to inform you that I hereby concur with the proposed reappointment of the 25 judges listed in the annex to your letter, for a term of two years, from 1 July 2020 until 30 June 2022, which would be in line with the upcoming period of operation of the Mechanism.

(Signed) Tijjani Muhammad-Bande

Annex II

[Original: French]

Judges of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals

Mr. Carmel A. Agius (Malta)

- Mr. Yusuf Aksar (Turkey)
- Mr. Jean-Claude Antonetti (France)
- Ms. Florence Rita Arrey (Cameroon)

Mr. Iain Bonomy (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)

- Mr. Mustapha El Baaj (Morocco)
- Ms. Graciela Susana Gatti Santana (Uruguay)
- Mr. Burton Hall (Bahamas)
- Ms. Claudia Hoefer (Germany)
- Ms. Elizabeth Ibanda-Nahamya (Uganda)
- Mr. Vagn Joensen (Denmark)
- Mr. Gberdao Gustave Kam (Burkina Faso)
- Mr. Liu Daqun (China)
- Mr. Joseph E. Chiondo Masanche (United Republic of Tanzania)
- Mr. Theodor Meron (United States of America)
- Mr. Lee Gacuiga Muthoga (Kenya)
- Ms. Aminatta Lois Runeni N'gum (Zimbabwe/Gambia)
- Ms. Prisca Matimba Nyambe (Zambia)
- Mr. Alphonsus Martinus Maria Orie (Netherlands)
- Mr. Seymour Panton (Jamaica)
- Mr. Seon Ki Park (Republic of Korea)
- Mr. José Ricardo de Prada Solaesa (Spain)
- Mr. Mahandrisoa Edmond Randrianirina (Madagascar)
- Mr. Ivo Nelson de Caires Batista Rosa (Portugal)
- Mr. William H. Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania)