

Meeting of States Parties

Distr.: General 1 April 2020

Original: English

Thirtieth meeting

New York, 15–19 June 2020 Item 13 of the provisional agenda* Election of seven members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

Election of seven members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea

Note by the Registrar of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea on the election procedures

I. Election of seven members of the Tribunal

- 1. In accordance with article 5, paragraph 1, of the Statute of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (annex VI to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea), the members of the Tribunal shall be elected for nine years and may be re-elected, provided, however, that of the members elected at the first election, the terms of seven members shall expire at the end of three years and the terms of seven more members shall expire at the end of six years.
- 2. The first election of members of the Tribunal by the Meeting of States Parties was held on 1 August 1996. The seven members whose terms expired at the end of three years and the seven members whose terms expired at the end of six years were determined by the Meeting of States Parties in accordance with the procedure set out at its fifth meeting, in 1996 (SPLOS/L.3/Rev.1), consistent with article 5, paragraph 2, of the Statute. Triennial elections of seven members of the Tribunal were held in 1999, 2002, 2005, 2008, 2011, 2014 and 2017.
- 3. The triennial elections held from 1999 to 2008 were conducted in accordance with the procedure determined at the fifth Meeting of States Parties. The elections held in 2011, 2014 and 2017 were conducted in accordance with the procedure determined at the nineteenth Meeting of States Parties (SPLOS/201).
- 4. The members currently serving, along with their nationalities and terms of office, are listed in the annex to the present note.
- 5. Pursuant to article 2 of the Rules of the Tribunal, the term of office of members elected at a triennial election begins to run from 1 October following the date of the election.
- 6. The election to fill the places of seven members whose terms of office expire on 30 September 2020 will be held during the thirtieth Meeting of States Parties, on a date yet to be determined.

^{*} SPLOS/30/L.1.Rev.1.





7. A list of all persons nominated, in alphabetical order, with an indication of the States parties that have nominated them, prepared by the Registrar in accordance with article 4, paragraph 2, of the Statute, is being circulated to States parties (SPLOS/30/8), as are the curricula vitae of the nominated candidates (SPLOS/30/9).

II. Procedure

- 8. Pursuant to article 4, paragraph 4, of the Statute, the members of the Tribunal shall be elected by secret ballot at a meeting of States parties convened by a procedure agreed to by the States parties. Two thirds of the States parties shall constitute a quorum at such meeting. Article 4, paragraph 4, of the Statute further stipulates that the persons elected to the Tribunal shall be those nominees who obtain the largest number of votes and a two-thirds majority of the States parties present and voting, provided that such majority includes a majority of the States parties.
- 9. With regard to composition, article 2 of the Statute provides as follows: "The Tribunal shall be composed of a body of 21 independent members, elected from among persons enjoying the highest reputation for fairness and integrity and of recognized competence in the field of the law of the sea." It further provides that: "In the Tribunal as a whole, the representation of the principal legal systems of the world and equitable geographical distribution shall be assured."
- 10. With regard to membership, article 3 of the Statute provides as follows: "No two members of the Tribunal may be nationals of the same State. A person who for the purposes of membership in the Tribunal could be regarded as a national of more than one State shall be deemed to be a national of the one in which he ordinarily exercises civil and political rights." It further provides that: "There shall be no fewer than three members from each geographical group as established by the General Assembly of the United Nations."
- 11. In 2009, the nineteenth Meeting of States Parties approved the arrangement for the allocation of seats on the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea and the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (SPLOS/201) (see SPLOS/203, paras. 96–102). As laid out in paragraph 1 of the arrangement, the allocation of seats of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea shall be in accordance with the relevant provisions of the Convention, providing that no regional group will have fewer than three seats. From the next election, the Tribunal shall have the following composition:
 - (a) Five members of the Tribunal shall be from the Group of African States;
 - (b) Five members of the Tribunal shall be from the Group of Asian States;
 - (c) Three members of the Tribunal shall be from the Group of Eastern European States;
 - (d) Four members of the Tribunal shall be from the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Three members of the Tribunal shall be from the Group of Western European and other States;
 - (f) The remaining one member of the Tribunal shall be elected from among the Group of African States, the Group of Asian States and the Group of Western European and other States.
- 12. According to paragraph 3 of SPLOS/201, the above arrangements do not prejudice or affect future arrangements for elections.

2/3 20-05038

Annex

Members of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea and their terms of office

Name	Nationality	Date of expiry of term of office
President		
Jin-Hyun Paik	Republic of Korea	30 September 2023
Vice-President		
David J. Attard	Malta	30 September 2020
Judges		
Tafsir Malick Ndiaye	Senegal	30 September 2020
José Luís Jesus	Cabo Verde	30 September 2026
Jean-Pierre Cot	France	30 September 2020
Anthony Amos Lucky	Trinidad and Tobago	30 September 2020
Stanislaw Michal Pawlak	Poland	30 September 2023
Shunji Yanai	Japan	30 September 2023
James Luta Kateka	United Republic of Tanzania	30 September 2023
Albertus Jacobus Hoffmann	South Africa	30 September 2023
Zhiguo Gao	China	30 September 2020
Boualem Bouguetaia	Algeria	30 September 2026
Elsa Kelly	Argentina	30 September 2020
Markiyan Z. Kulyk	Ukraine	30 September 2020
Alonso Gómez-Robledo Verduzco	Mexico	30 September 2023
Tomas Heidar	Iceland	30 September 2023
Óscar Cabello Sarubbi	Paraguay	30 September 2026
Neeru Chadha	India	30 September 2026
Kriangsak Kittichaisaree	Thailand	30 September 2026
Roman A. Kolodkin	Russian Federation	30 September 2026
Liesbeth Lijnzaad	Netherlands	30 September 2026

20-05038