

Distr.: Limited 4 March 2020

Original: English

Special Committee on Peacekeeping Operations

New York, 17 February-13 March 2020

Draft report on the substantive session of 2020

Rapporteur: Mr. Abdullah Ibrahim Abdelhamid Alsayed Attelb (Egypt)

I. Introduction

1. By its resolution 73/293, the General Assembly took note of the report of the Special Committee on Peacekeeping Operations (A/73/19), decided that the Committee, in accordance with its mandate, would continue its efforts for a comprehensive review of the whole question of peacekeeping operations in all their aspects, review the implementation of its previous proposals and consider any new proposals so as to enhance the capacity of the United Nations to fulfil its responsibilities in that field, and requested the Committee to submit a report on its work to the Assembly at its seventy-fourth session.

II. Organizational matters

A. Opening and duration of the session

2. The Committee held its substantive session of 2020 at Headquarters from 17 February to 13 March 2020. It held four plenary meetings.

3. The session was opened by the Under-Secretary-General for Operational Support. At the 262nd (opening) meeting, on 17 February, the President of the General Assembly addressed the Committee. A statement was also made by the Under-Secretary-General for Peace Operations.

4. The Department of Peace Operations, the Department of Operational Support and the Department of Management Strategy, Policy and Compliance provided support to the Committee on substantive issues, while the Disarmament and Peace Affairs Branch of the Department for General Assembly and Conference Management served as the technical secretariat of the Committee.





B. Election of officers

5. At its 262nd meeting, the Committee elected the following officers by acclamation:

Chair:

Samson Sunday Itegboje (Nigeria)

Vice-Chairs:

Alejandro Verdier (Argentina) Richard Arbeiter (Canada) Hiroyuki Namazu (Japan) Mariusz Lewicki (Poland)

Rapporteur:

Abdullah Ibrahim Abdelhamid Alsayed Attelb (Egypt)

C. Agenda

6. At the same meeting, the Committee adopted the provisional agenda (A/AC.121/2020/L.1), which read:

- 1. Opening of the session.
- 2. Election of officers.
- 3. Adoption of the agenda.
- 4. Organization of work.
- 5. General debate.
- 6. In-session briefings.
- 7. Consideration of the draft report by the Working Group of the Whole.
- 8. Other matters.
- 9. Adoption of the report to the General Assembly at its seventy-fourth session.

7. The Committee also approved its draft programme of work (A/AC.121/2020/L.2).

D. Organization of work

8. Also at the same meeting, the Committee decided to establish a working group of the whole, to be chaired by Richard Arbeiter (Canada), to consider the substance of the mandate entrusted to the Committee by the General Assembly.

9. The composition of the Committee at its substantive session of 2020 is contained in the annex to the present report. The list of documents for the session is contained in A/AC.121/2020/INF/2 and the list of participants in A/AC.121/2020/INF/4.

E. Proceedings of the Committee

10. At its 262nd to 264th meetings, on 17 and 18 February, the Committee held a general debate on a comprehensive review of the whole question of peacekeeping operations in all their aspects. Statements were made by the representatives of

Morocco (on behalf of the Non-Aligned Movement), Indonesia (on behalf of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations), the European Union (also on behalf of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, the Republic of Moldova, Serbia and Turkey), Australia (also on behalf of Canada and New Zealand), Peru, India, Switzerland, Ireland, Brazil, Thailand, Argentina, the United States of America, Egypt, South Africa, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Indonesia, Bangladesh, Uruguay, Iraq, Chile, Ethiopia, Norway, Ukraine, Guatemala, Nepal, Cuba, Viet Nam, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Mali, Jamaica, Japan, El Salvador, Mexico, the Republic of Korea, Senegal, the Philippines, Italy, China, Côte d'Ivoire, France, Ecuador, Bhutan, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Turkey, Nigeria, Kenya, the Sudan, the Russian Federation, Lebanon, Djibouti, Rwanda and Israel.

11. A statement was also made by the observer for the International Organization of la Francophonie.

12. On 19 February, the Working Group of the Whole heard briefings by the Under-Secretary-General for Peace Operations, the Under-Secretary-General for Operational Support and the Director of the Administrative Law Division of the Office of Human Resources, on behalf of the Under-Secretary-General for Management Strategy, Policy and Compliance, who also engaged in an interactive dialogue with delegations. The Working Group also heard a briefing by and engaged in an interactive dialogue with the Director of the Central and Southern Africa Division of the Department of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs, on behalf of the Assistant Secretary-General for Rule of Law and Security Institutions.

13. The Working Group of the Whole and its two sub-working groups met from 21 February to 13 March and concluded their work on draft recommendations.

III. Consideration of the draft report of the Working Group

14. At its 265th meeting, on 13 March, the Committee considered the recommendations of the Working Group of the Whole and decided to include them in the present report (see paras. []–[]) for consideration by the General Assembly.

IV. Adoption of the report to the General Assembly at its seventy-fourth session

15. At the same meeting, the Committee adopted its draft report to the General Assembly as introduced by the Rapporteur of the Committee.

V. Proposals, recommendations and conclusions of the Committee

16. [to be inserted]

Annex

Composition of the Special Committee on Peacekeeping Operations

The Special Committee on Peacekeeping Operations currently consists of the following 154 members: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

The following observers were represented: Botswana, United Arab Emirates, Holy See, African Union, European Union, International Criminal Court, International Organization of la Francophonie, Organization of Islamic Cooperation, Sovereign Order of Malta.