United Nations E/2020/9/Add.7



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 28 January 2020

Original: English

2020 session

25 July 2019–22 July 2020

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of six members of the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the World Food Programme is composed of 36 members, elected from among the States Members of the United Nations and the States members of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). In accordance with General Assembly resolution 65/266 and FAO Conference resolution 7/2011, the Economic and Social Council and the Council of FAO elect 18 members of the Executive Board each, according to the pattern set out in Assembly resolution 65/266.
- 2. The Economic and Social Council is to elect, at the management meeting to be held on 15 April 2020, six members of the Executive Board, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2021, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2020 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: China, Guatemala, Hungary, Japan, Lesotho and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
- 3. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern: 1
 - (a) One member from the States included in List A;
 - (b) One member from the States included in List B;
 - (c) One member from the States included in List C;
 - (d) Two members from the States included in List D;
 - (e) One member from the States included in List E.
- 4. The 18 members of the Executive Board elected by the Economic and Social Council are listed in annex I to the present note. For the information of the Economic and Social Council, annex II lists the members of the Executive Board elected by the FAO Council. Annex III lists the States Members of the United Nations and the States members of FAO for election to the Executive Board.

¹ The members are elected from lists set out in the Basic Texts of the World Food Programme. The lists are reproduced in annex III to the present note.





Annex I

Eighteen members elected by the Economic and Social Council to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

Membership in 2020

Four seats for States on List A

Burkina Faso (2021), Burundi (2022), Lesotho* (2020), Madagascar (2022)

Four seats for States on List B

China* (2020), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2021), Republic of Korea (2021), Turkmenistan (2022)

Two seats for States on List C

Cuba (2022), Guatemala* (2020)

Six seats for States on List D

Australia (2022), Austria¹ (2021), Japan* (2020), Spain (2022), Sweden (2021), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland* (2020)

Two seats for States on List E

Hungary* (2020), Russian Federation (2021)

2/6 20-01261

^{*} Retiring member.

¹ Replaced Switzerland as from 1 January 2020.

Annex II

Eighteen members elected by the Council of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

Membership in 2020¹

Five seats for States on List A

Algeria* (2020), Angola (2022), Côte d'Ivoire (2021), Equatorial Guinea*,2 (2020), Somalia (2022)

Three seats for States on List B

India (2021), Kuwait (2021), Saudi Arabia (2022)

Three seats for States on List C

Argentina (2022), Brazil* (2020), Peru (2021)

Six seats for States on List D

Canada (2022), Denmark* (2020), Germany (2022), Netherlands (2021), Norway* (2020), United States of America (2021)

One seat for States on List E

Poland* (2020)

* Retiring member.

20-01261 3/6

¹ Further information on the members elected by the Council of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations is available at http://executiveboard.wfp.org/members-of-the-board.

² Equatorial Guinea is occupying the rotating seat. The rotating seat is to be occupied in accordance with the following arrangement: a State from List A to be elected to occupy the additional seat every other term, starting from 1 January 2012; a State from List B to be elected to occupy the additional seat every fourth term, starting from 1 January 2015; a State from List A to be elected to occupy the additional seat every other term, starting from 1 January 2018; a State from List C to be elected to occupy the additional seat every fourth term, starting from 1 January 2021.

Annex III

Lists of States Members of the United Nations and members of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations for election to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme¹

1. Developing countries and territories

List A

Algeria Eritrea Mozambique
Angola Eswatini Namibia
Benin Ethiopia Niger
Botswana Gabon Nigeria
Burkina Faso Gambia Rwanda

Burundi Ghana Sao Tome and Principe

Cabo Verde Guinea Senegal Cameroon Guinea-Bissau Seychelles Central African Republic Sierra Leone Kenya Chad Lesotho Somalia Comoros Liberia South Africa Congo Libya Sudan Côte d'Ivoire Madagascar Togo Democratic Republic Malawi Tunisia of the Congo Mali Uganda

Djibouti Mauritania United Republic of Tanzania

Egypt Mauritius Zambia
Equatorial Guinea Morocco Zimbabwe

List B

Group I

Afghanistan Kuwait Syrian Arab Republic

Bahrain Kyrgyzstan Tajikistan
Iran (Islamic Republic of) Lebanon Turkmenistan

Iraq Oman United Arab Emirates

Jordan Qatar Uzbekistan Kazakhstan Saudi Arabia Yemen

4/6 20-01261

¹ From appendix A to the General Regulations of the World Food Programme. In the event of a change in the membership of the United Nations or the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the appropriate change will be made by the secretariats of the United Nations and FAO, respectively, after the necessary consultations with Member States.

Group II

Bangladesh Malaysia Republic of Korea

Bhutan Maldives Samoa
Brunei Darussalam Marshall Islands Singapore
Cambodia Micronesia (Federated Solomon Islands

China States of) Sri Lanka Mongolia Thailand Cook Islands Democratic People's Republic Myanmar Timor-Leste Nauru of Korea Tonga Fiji Nepal Tuvalu Niue India Vanuatu Indonesia Pakistan Viet Nam

Kiribati Palau

Lao People's Democratic Papua New Guinea

Republic Philippines

List C

Antigua and Barbuda Dominican Republic Paraguay
Argentina Ecuador Peru

Bahamas El Salvador Saint Kitts and Nevis

Barbados Grenada Saint Lucia

Belize Guatemala Saint Vincent and the

Bolivia (Plurinational State of) Guyana Grenadines
Brazil Haiti Suriname

Chile Honduras Trinidad and Tobago

Colombia Jamaica Uruguay

Costa Rica Mexico Venezuela (Bolivarian

Cuba Nicaragua Republic of)

Dominica Panama

2. Economically developed countries

List D

Iceland Andorra Norway Ireland Australia Portugal Austria Israel San Marino Belgium Italy Spain Canada Japan Sweden Cyprus Liechtenstein Switzerland Denmark Luxembourg Turkey

Finland Malta United Kingdom of Great
France Monaco Britain and Northern Ireland
Germany Netherlands United States of America

Greece New Zealand

20-01261 5/6

List E

Albania Armenia Azerbaijan Belarus Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bulgaria Croatia Czechia Estonia Georgia Hungary Latvia Lithuania Montenegro North Macedonia

Poland

Republic of Moldova

Romania

Russian Federation

Serbia Slovakia Slovenia Ukraine

6/6 20-01261