United Nations E/2020/9/Add.8



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 28 January 2020

Original: English

2020 session

25 July 2019–22 July 2020

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of five members of the Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) is composed of 22 members. In accordance with its decision 1995/223, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, from among States Members of the United Nations and observer States, five members of the Programme Coordinating Board for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2021 to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2020 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Canada, Chile, Congo, Denmark and Iran (Islamic Republic of).
- 2. The election will be held at the management meeting of the Council, on 15 April 2020.
- 3. The five members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) One member from African States;
 - (b) One member from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (d) Two members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Programme Coordinating Board in 2020 is set out in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Programme Coordinating Board of the Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS

(22 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2020

Five members from African States

Congo* (2020), Kenya (2022), Liberia (2021), Namibia (2021), Tunisia (2022)

Five members from Asia-Pacific States

China (2021), India (2022), Iran (Islamic Republic of)* (2020), Japan (2021), Thailand (2022)

Two members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2022), Russian Federation (2021)

Three members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Brazil (2021), Chile* (2020), El Salvador (2022)

Seven members from Western European and other States

Canada*, ¹ (2020), Denmark*, ² (2020), France (2022), Luxembourg, ³ (2021), Switzerland⁴ (2021), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2021), United States of America (2022)

* Retiring member.

2/2 20-01262

¹ Replaced Australia as from 1 January 2020.

² Replaced Finland as from 1 January 2020.

³ Replaced Belgium as from 1 January 2020.

⁴ Replaced Sweden as from 1 January 2020.