

Distr.: General 2 January 2018

Original: English

Note by the President of the Security Council

1. Pursuant to paragraph 4 (b) of the note by the President of the Security Council dated 30 October 1998 (S/1998/1016) and paragraphs 5 to 8 of the note by the President of the Council dated 15 July 2016 (S/2016/619), and after consultations among the members of the Council, it was agreed to elect the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of subsidiary bodies for the period ending 31 December 2018 as follows:

Security Council Committee pursuant to resolutions 751 (1992) and 1907 (2009) concerning Somalia and Eritrea

Chair:

Kairat Umarov (Kazakhstan)

Vice-Chairs: Equatorial Guinea and Kuwait

Security Council Committee pursuant to resolutions 1267 (1999), 1989 (2011) and 2253 (2015) concerning Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant (Da'esh), Al-Qaida and associated individuals, groups, undertakings and entities

Chair:

Kairat Umarov (Kazakhstan)

Vice-Chairs: Peru and Russian Federation

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1373 (2001) concerning counter-terrorism

Chair:

Gustavo Meza-Cuadra (Peru)

Vice-Chairs: Ethiopia, France and Russian Federation

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1518 (2003)

Chair:

Joanna Wronecka (Poland)

Vice-Chair: Kazakhstan

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1533 (2004) concerning the Democratic Republic of the Congo

Chair:

Mansour Alotaibi (Kuwait)

Vice-Chairs: Peru and Poland





Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1540 (2004)

Chair:

Sacha Sergio Llorentty Solíz (Bolivia (Plurinational State of))

Vice-Chairs: Côte d'Ivoire, Sweden and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1591 (2005) concerning the Sudan

Chair:

Joanna Wronecka (Poland)

Vice-Chairs: Côte d'Ivoire and Netherlands

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1636 (2005)

Chair:

Anatolio Ndong Mba (Equatorial Guinea)

Vice-Chairs: Poland and Sweden

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006)

Chair:

Karel J. G. van Oosterom (Netherlands)

Vice-Chairs: Equatorial Guinea and Poland

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1970 (2011) concerning Libya

Chair:

Olof Skoog (Sweden)

Vice-Chair: Netherlands

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1988 (2011)

Chair:

Kairat Umarov (Kazakhstan)

Vice-Chairs: Peru and Russian Federation

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2048 (2012) concerning Guinea-Bissau

Chair:

Anatolio Ndong Mba (Equatorial Guinea)

Vice-Chair: Ethiopia

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2127 (2013) concerning the Central African Republic

Chair:

Bernard Tanoh-Boutchoue (Côte d'Ivoire)

Vice-Chair: Kuwait

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2140 (2014)

Chair:

Gustavo Meza-Cuadra (Peru)

Vice-Chair: Poland

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2206 (2015) concerning South Sudan

Chair:

Joanna Wronecka (Poland)

Vice-Chairs: Kazakhstan and Sweden

Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 2374 (2017) concerning Mali

Chair:

Olof Skoog (Sweden)

Vice-Chairs: Ethiopia

Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations

Chair:

Bernard Tanoh-Boutchoue (Côte d'Ivoire)

Vice-Chair: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa

Chair:

Tekeda Alemu (Ethiopia)

Vice-Chair: Côte d'Ivoire

Working Group established pursuant to resolution 1566 (2004)

Chair:

Gustavo Meza-Cuadra (Peru)

Vice-Chairs: Ethiopia, France and Russian Federation

Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict

Chair: Olof Skoog (Sweden)

Vice-Chair: Côte d'Ivoire

Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions

Chair:

Mansour Alotaibi (Kuwait)

Vice-Chair: Poland

Informal Working Group on International Tribunals

Chair:

Gustavo Meza-Cuadra (Peru)

Vice-Chair: Netherlands

2. Pursuant to paragraph 3 of the note by the President of the Security Council dated 16 January 2016 (S/2016/44), and after consultations among the members of the Council, it was agreed to select the facilitator for the period ending 31 December 2018 as follows:

Implementation of Security Council resolution 2231 (2015)

Facilitator:

Karel J. G. van Oosterom (Netherlands)