

## UNITED NATIONS TRUSTEESHIP COUNCIL



Distr. GENERAL

T/PET.11/745/Add.1 23 February 1959 ENGLISH ORIGINAL: ITALIAN

PETITICA FROM THE PRESIDENT OF THE "FIKIRINI PARTY" AT CHISIMAIO CONCERNING SCMALLIAND UNDER ITALIAN ADMINISTRATION

(Circulated in accordance with rule 85 of the rules of procedure of the Trusteeship Council)

GIOVANI BAGIUNI FICHIRINI Central Headquarters CHISIMAIO

11 December 1958

To: Hon. Representatives of United Nations Legislative Assembly of Somalia Prime Minister of Somalia Minister of the Interior

Subject: Rebellion of Fikirini Members

Mogadiscio

Certain rebels among the Fikirini members have dared, on 24 November 1958, to send a complaint to the same Excellencies and Honorables to whom this letter is addressed. They decided to write without obtaining the agreement of the Fikirini Party, which is composed of members, Secretary and Vice-Secretary and other officials; they should have given the point of view of the Fikirini members instead of rebelling against the population of this party which does not agree with the contents of the said communication. In any case, things are as they are; but, as far as we were concerned, no communication or letter had been sent to these addressees; however, we came to know about this by finding in the Post and Telecommunications Office of Chisimaio an envelope addressed to the Fikirini Party by the United Nations Advisory Council for the Trust Territory of Somaliland under Italian Administration P.O. Box 24 Mogadiscio, acknowledging receipt of the above-mentioned letter<sup>1</sup>/ which would be processed. But we do not know what it is all about.

<u>1</u>/ T/PET.11/745. 59-04506

/...

T/PET.11/745/Add.1 English Page 2

We, responsible members of the Committee, President and Secretary of the. Fikirini Party: we warmly request these Honourable Diplomats not to take into consideration the said letter because that flour does not come from the mill of the Fikirini Party, or rather, from the undersigned responsible helmsmen.

Best regards,

The Committee

Abdi Sciosi Fanau Impia Siaca Mahad Muenie Mugi Masuo Mote Siragi Edha Esnail Mohamed Abdalla

• •

The President Mote Mohamed Abdurehman The Secretary Bana Fai Daud (Signed)

----