

Distr.: General 25 March 2019

Original: English

Seventy-fourth session Item 117 (c) of the preliminary list* Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments

Confirmation of the appointment of members of the Investments Committee

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Article 20 of the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund provides as follows:

Article 20 Investments Committee

The Investments Committee shall consist of nine members appointed by the Secretary-General after consultation with the Board and the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly.

2. The current membership of the Committee is as follows:

Madhav Dhar (India)* Keiko Honda (Japan)** Simon Jiang (China)* Achim Kassow (Germany)* Michael S. Klein (United States of America)* Linah K. Mohohlo (Botswana)* Gumersindo Oliveros (Spain)* Luciane Ribeiro (Brazil)*

3. Accordingly, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its seventy-fourth session, to confirm the appointment by the Secretary-General of eight persons (including one appointment that was postponed from the seventy-third session) to fill those vacancies.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for confirmation. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the seventy-fourth session.



* A/74/50.



^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 2019.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 2021.