United Nations E/2019/9/Add.8



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr.: General 18 February 2019

Original: English

2019 session

26 July 2018–24 July 2019

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

# Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services

## Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services is composed of 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. Under the terms of General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2020, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2019 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Albania, China, Cuba, Iran (the Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Mauritius, Norway, Panama, Republic of Moldova, Turkey and United States of America.
- 3. The election will be held at the management meeting of the Council, to be held on 7 May 2019.
- 4. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
  - (a) One member from African States;
  - (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States:
  - (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
  - (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 5. The membership of the Executive Board in 2019 is listed in the annex to the present note.





#### Annex

# Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/ United Nations Office for Project Services

(36 members; three-year term)

### Membership in 2019

#### **Eight members from African States**

Botswana (2021), Burkina Faso (2020), Cameroon (2021), Egypt (2020), Gambia (2021), Mauritius\* (2019), Rwanda (2021), South Africa (2021)

#### **Seven members from Asia-Pacific States**

Cambodia (2020), China\* (2019), India (2021), Iran (Islamic Republic of)\* (2019), Republic of Korea (2021), Saudi Arabia (2020), Vanuatu (2021)

#### Four members from Eastern European States

Albania\* (2019), Republic of Moldova\* (2019), Russian Federation (2020), Ukraine (2021)

#### Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2020), Brazil (2020), Cuba\* (2019), Mexico (2021), Panama\* (2019)

#### Twelve members from Western European and other States

Australia<sup>1</sup> (2020), Belgium (2021), Canada (2021), Ireland\* (2019), Italy (2021), Monaco<sup>2</sup> (2020), Netherlands (2021), Norway\* (2019), Sweden<sup>3</sup> (2020), Turkey\*,<sup>4</sup> (2019), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2020), United States of America\* (2019)

\* Retiring member.

2/2

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Replaced Finland as from 1 January 2019.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Replaced Switzerland as from 1 January 2019.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Replaced Portugal as from 1 January 2019.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Replaced Luxembourg as from 1 January 2019.