

Distr.: General 18 February 2019

Original: English

2019 session 26 July 2018–24 July 2019 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund is made up of 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.

2. Under the terms of General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2020, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2019 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, China, Czechia, Guatemala, the Netherlands, Portugal, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Switzerland and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

3. The election will be held at the management meetings of the Council, to be held on 7 May 2019.

4. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:

- (a) One member from African States;
- (b) Two members from Asia-Pacific States;
- (c) Two members from Eastern European States;
- (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (e) Four members from Western European and other States.

5. The membership of the Executive Board in 2019 is listed in the annex to the present note.



Please recycle

Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2019

Eight members from African States

Angola* (2019), Benin (2021), Burundi (2021), Cameroon (2021), Djibouti (2021), Ghana (2020), Morocco (2021), Sudan (2020)

Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

Bangladesh (2021), China* (2019), Mongolia (2021), Pakistan (2021), Republic of Korea (2020), Saudi Arabia* (2019), Turkmenistan (2020)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus (2020), Czechia* (2019), Lithuania (2021), Russian Federation* (2019)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda* (2019), Brazil (2020), Colombia (2020), Guatemala* (2019), Mexico (2021)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Australia (2021), Canada (2021), Denmark¹ (2020), France (2021), Italy (2020), Luxembourg (2021), Netherlands* (2019), Portugal^{*, 2} (2019), Sweden³ (2020), Switzerland^{*, 4} (2019), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland^{*} (2019), United States of America (2020)

^{*} Retiring member.

¹ Replaced Greece as from 1 January 2019.

² Replaced Germany as from 1 January 2019.

³ Replaced Iceland as from 1 January 2019.

⁴ Replaced Norway as from 1 January 2019.