UNITED NATIONS





General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/37/512 29 October 1982

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-seventh session Agenda item 17 (b)

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of six members of the Committee on Contributions

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. M. Adel EL SAFTY (Egypt)

- 1. At its 21st meeting, on 28 October 1982, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/37/182) concerning the vacancies that will occur in the Committee on Contributions as a result of the expiration on 31 December 1982 of the terms of office of six of its members.
- 2. The Fifth Committee also had before it a note by the Secretary-General (A/C.5/37/20) containing the names of six persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment to the Committee on Contributions, to fill the vacancies referred to above.
- 3. The Fifth Committee decided, without a vote, to recommend the appointment to the Committee on Contributions of Mr. Andrzej Abraszewski (Poland), Mr. Nobutoshi Akao (Japan), Mr. Mohammed Sadiq Al-Mahdi (Iraq), Mr. Hamed Arabi El Houderi (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya), Mr. Richard V. Hennes (United States of America) and Mr. Zoran Lazarević (Yugoslavia), for three-year terms of office beginning on 1 January 1983.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

- 4. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly should appoint the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1983:
 - Mr. Andrzej Abraszewski,
 - Mr. Nobutoshi Akao,
 - Mr. Mohammed Sadiq Al-Mahdi,
 - Mr. Hamed Arabi El Houderi,
 - Mr. Richard V. Hennes,
 - Mr. Zoran Lazarević.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

- 4. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly should appoint the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1983:
 - Mr. Andrzej Abraszewski,
 - Mr. Nobutoshi Akao,
 - Mr. Mohammed Sadiq Al-Mahdi,
 - Mr. Hamed Arabi El Houderi,
 - Mr. Richard V. Hennes,
 - Mr. Zoran Lazarević.
