



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/37/184 20 April 1982

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-seventh session

Item 17 (d) of the preliminary list*

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY
ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Confirmation of the appointment of three members of the Investments Committee

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Article 20 of the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund provides as follows:

Article 20

Investments Committee

"The Investments Committee shall consist of nine members appointed by the Secretary-General after consultation with the [United Nations Joint Staff Pension] Board and the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly."

^{*} A/37/50/Rev.1.

- 2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:
 - Mr. Aloysio de Andrade Faria (Brazil)*
 - Mr. Jean Guyot (France) ***
 - Mr. George Johnston (United States of America) ***
 - Mr. Michiya Matsukawa (Japan) ***
 - Mr. David Montagu (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) **
 - Mr. Braj Kumar Nehru (India)*
 - Mr. Yves Oltramare (Switzerland) **
 - Mr. Emmanuel Noi Omaboe (Ghana) **
 - Mr. Stanislaw Raczkowski (Poland)*
 - * Term of office expires on 31 December 1982.
 - ** Term of office expires on 31 December 1983.
 - *** Term of office expires on 31 December 1984.
- 3. Since the terms of office of Mr. de Andrade Faria, Mr. Nehru and Mr. Raczkowski will expire on 31 December 1982, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its thirty-seventh session to confirm the appointment by the Secretary-General of three persons to fill these vacancies. The persons so confirmed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1983.
- 4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for confirmation. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the thirty-seventh session.