



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/37/18220 April 1982

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-seventh session Item 17 (b) of the preliminary list*

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of six members of the Committee on Contributions

Note by the Secretary-General

Rules 158 and 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

"Rule 158

"The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions consisting of eighteen members.

"kule 159

"The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

A/37/50/Rev.1.

- 2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:
 - Mr. Amjad Ali (Pakistan) ***
 - Mr. Mohammed Sadiq Al-Mahdi (Iraq)*
 - Mr. Fathih K. Bouayad-Agha (Algeria)*
 - Mr. Anatoly Semënovich Chistyakov (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics) ***
 - Mr. Miguel Angel Dávila Mendoza (Mexico) ***
 - Mr. Hélio de Burgos-Cabal (Brazil) **
 - Mr. Leoncio Fernández Maroto (Spain) **
 - Mr. Richard V. Hennes (United States of America)*
 - Mr. Lance Joseph (Australia) **
 - Mr. Japhet G. Kiti (Kenya) **
 - Mr. Wilfried Koschorreck (Federal Republic of Germany) ***
 - Mr. Rachid Lahlou (Morocco) **
 - Mr. Atilio Norberto Molteni (Argentina) **
 - Mr. Katsumi Sezaki (Japan)*
 - Mr. Ladislav Šmíd (Czechoslovakia) *
 - Mr. József Tardos (Hungary)*
 - Mr. Yang Hushan (China) ***
 - Mr. Philippe Zeller (France) ***

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 1982.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 1983.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 1984.

^{3.} Since the terms of office of Mr. Al-Mahdi, Mr. Bouayad-Agha, Mr. Hennes, Mr. Sezaki, Mr. Šmíd and Mr. Tardos will expire on 31 December 1982, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its thirty-seventh session to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1983.

^{4.} At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the thirty-seventh session.