



Distr.: General 28 September 1999

Original: English

Fifty-fourth session Agenda item 16 (a) Elections to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other elections: election of twenty members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

## **Election of twenty members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination**

## Note by the Secretary-General

1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976 and General Assembly decision 42/450 of 17 December 1987, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly.

2. The membership of the Committee in 1999 is as follows (see General Assembly decisions 53/308 A, B and C of 26 October 1998, 18 February 1999 and 7 April 1999, respectively):

Argentina, \* Austria, \* Bahamas, \*\* Benin, \*\*\* Brazil, \* Cameroon, \* China, \*\*\* Comoros, \*\*\* Congo, \* Egypt, \*\*\* France, \*\* Germany, \* Indonesia, \* Iran (Islamic Republic of), \* Italy, \* Japan, \*\*\* Mexico, \*\* Nicaragua, \* Nigeria, \* Pakistan, \* Poland, \* Portugal, \* Republic of Korea, \*\*\* Romania, \* Russian Federation, \*\* Thailand, \* Trinidad and Tobago, \* Uganda, \*\* Ukraine, \* United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, \* United States of America, \*\* Uruguay, \*\*\* Zambia\*\* and Zimbabwe. \*

3. The General Assembly, at its fifty-fourth session, will, therefore, be called upon to elect 20 members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur on 31 December 1999 upon the expiration of the terms of office of the following members: Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Cameroon, Congo, Germany, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Italy, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern

<sup>\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 1999.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2000.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 2001.

Ireland and Zimbabwe. In accordance with General Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:

- (a) Four members from African States;
- (b) Four members from Asian States;
- (c) Three members from Eastern European States;
- (d) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (e) Five members from Western European and other States.

4. By its decision 1999/210 C, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its fifty-fourth session, for a term of three years, beginning on 1 January 2000:

(a) African States (four vacancies): Cameroon, Gabon, Mauritania, Zimbabwe;

(b) Asian States (four vacancies): Bangladesh, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Pakistan;

(c) **Eastern European States** (three vacancies): Poland, Republic of Moldova, Ukraine;

(d) Latin American and Caribbean States (four vacancies): Argentina, Brazil, Cuba, Peru;

(e) Western European and other States (five vacancies): Germany, Italy, Portugal, San Marino, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.