Admission of New Members for examination and report, as provided in rule 59 of the provisional rules of procedure.

Resolution 492 (1981)

of 10 November 1981

The Security Council,

Having examined the application of Antigua and Barbudan for admission to the United Nations,

Recommends to the General Assembly that Antigua and Barbuda should be admitted to membership in the United Nations.

Adopted unanimously at the 2309th meeting.

At its 2309th meeting, on 10 November 1981, the Council decided to invite the representatives of Nicaragua and Saint Lucia to participate, without vote, in the discussion of the report of the Committee on the Admission of New Members⁷² concerning the application of Antigua and Barbuda for admission to membership in the United Nations.

⁷² Official Records of the Security Council, Thirty-sixth Year, Supplement for October, November and December 1981, document S/14748.

THE INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

A. Election of two members of the International Court of Justice

Decision

On 15 January 1981, the Security Council, at its 2262nd meeting, and the General Assembly, at its 100th meeting, elected two members of the International Court of Justice to fill the vacancies caused by the death of the following judges:

Mr. Richard R. Baxter (United States of America);

Mr. Salah El Dine Tarazi (Syrian Arab Republic).

The following were elected:

Mr. Stephen Schwebel (United States of America);

Mr. Abdallah Fikri El-Khani (Syrian Arab Republic).

B. Election of five members of the International Court of Justice

Decision

On 5 November 1981, the Security Council, at its 2306th meeting, and the General Assembly, at its 48th meeting, elected five members of the International Court of Justice to fill the vacancies occurring on the expiration of the terms of the following judges:

Sir Humphrey Waldock (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland);

Mr. Isaac Forster (Senegal);

Mr. André Gros (France);

Mr. Nagendra Singh (India);

Mr. José María Ruda (Argentina).

The following were elected:

Mr. Guy Ladreit de Lacharrière (France);

Mr. Robert Y. Jennings (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland);

Mr. Kéba Mbaye (Senegal);

Mr. Nagendra Singh (India);

Mr. José María Ruda (Argentina).

⁷³ Resolutions or decisions on this question were also adopted by the Council in 1946, 1948, 1951, 1953, 1954, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1963, 1965, 1966, 1969, 1972, 1975, 1978 and 1980.