

Security Council

Distr. GENERAL

S/14326/Add.44 11 November 1981

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

SUMMARY STATEMENT BY THE SECRETARY-GENERAL ON MATTERS OF WHICH THE SECURITY COUNCIL IS SEIZED AND ON THE STAGE REACHED IN THEIR CONSIDERATION

Addendum

Pursuant to rule 11 of the provisional rules of procedure of the Security Council, the Secretary-General is submitting the following summary statement.

The list of items of which the Security Council is seized is contained in document S/14326 of 9 January 1981 and S/14326/Add.23 of 17 June 1981.

During the week ending 7 November 1981, the Security Council took no action on any of the items listed therein.

At its 2305th meeting, held in private on 4 November 1981, the Security Council continued its consideration of the question of the recommendation for the appointment of the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

In accordance with rule 55 of the provisional rules of procedure of the Security Council, the following communiqué was issued by the Secretary-General at the close of the meeting, in place of a verbatim record:

"At its 2305th meeting, held in private on 4 November 1981, the Security Council considered the question of the recommendation for the appointment of the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

"The next meeting to consider the question will be fixed at a subsequent date."

Also, during that week, at its 2306th meeting, held on 5 November 1981, the Security Council proceeded to the election of five members of the International Court of Justice, in accordance with article 13 of the Statute, to fill the five seats which will become vacant on 5 February 1982 on the expiry of the terms of office of five Judges.

81~29852 0079c (E)

S/14326/Add.44 English Page 2

ì

In the course of the voting, the following five candidates received the required majority of votes in the Security Council: Mr. Guy Ladreit de Lacharrière (France), Mr. Robert Y. Jennings (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Mr. Kéba Mbaye (Senegal), Mr. Nagendra Singh (India) and Mr. José María Ruda (Argentina). As the same five candidates received the required majority of votes in the General Assembly, they were declared elected members of the the International Court of Justice for a nine-year term of office beginning 6 February 1982.
