



Secretariat

ST/SG/SER.A/281/Add.14 14 May 1999



PERMANENT MISSIONS TO THE UNITED NATIONS

The information shown below has been received by the Protocol and Liaison Service from Permanent Missions. Inquiries should be addressed to that Service, Room 201, telephone 963-7174, telefax 963-1921.

Changes in the Permanent Missions

Argentina

Appointment:

Sra. Alejandra Martha **Ayuso** Second Secretary

Botswana

Departure:

Mr. Mothusi D. C. **Nkgowe** Minister Deputy Permanent Representative

Brazil

Departure:

H.E. Mr. Celso L. N. **Amorim** Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Permanent Representative

Pending the appointment of a new Permanent Representative, H.E. Mr. Luiz Tupy Caldas de **Moura**, Ambassador, Deputy Permanent Representative, is acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

China

Departures:

Mr. **Yuan** Shaofu Minister Counsellor

Mr. **Xie** Yunliang Counsellor

Ms. Chen Yue Second Secretary

Mr. Lu Kang Third Secretary

Colombia

Appointment:

Srta. Leslie Andrea **Guzmán** Third Secretary

Departure:

Sr. Juan Carlos **Londoño** Second Secretary

Cuba

Appointments:

Sra. Ileana Bárbara **Núñez Mordoche** First Secretary

Sr. Luis Alberto **Amorós Núñez** Second Secretary

Sr. Marcos Antonio **Gabriel Lluch** Second Secretary

Sr. Víctor **Mons Sáez** Attaché

Ecuador

Appointment:

Sr. Fernando **Yépez Lasso** Minister Sra. Vivian Idrovo de Yépez

Departure:

Sr. Fabián **Páliz** Counsellor

New e-mail address: ecuador@un.int

2 ST/SG/SER.A/281/Add.14

Fiji

Appointment:

H.E. Mr. Amraiya Naidu

Ambassador

Deputy Permanent Representative

Mrs. Aruna Naidu

Georgia

Appointment:

Mr. Ivan Matchavariani

First Secretary

Departures:

Mr. Zaal V. Gogsadze

Counsellor

Mr. Levan R. Gogoberidze

Counsellor

Germany

Departures:

Ms. Ingrid Steinmeister

Counsellor

Ms. Christina Beinhoff

First Secretary

Honduras

Appointment:

H.E. Sr. Ángel Edmundo **Orellana Mercado**

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary

Permanent Representative

(The new Permanent Representative presented his credentials

to the Secretary-General on 6 May 1999.)

Departure:

H.E. Sr. Hugo Noé Pino

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary

Permanent Representative

Indonesia

Appointment:

Mr. Djauhari Oratmangun

Counsellor (Economic Affairs)

Departures:

Mr. Mochamad Slamet Hidayat

Minister Counsellor

Mr. Prayono Atiyanto

First Secretary

Japan

Departures:

Mr. Akio Tanaka

Minister

Ms. Naoko Nemoto

Second Secretary

Lithuania

Promotion:

Mr. Kestutis Sadauskas

Counsellor

Mexico

Promotions:

Sra. Matilde García Verástegui

Counsellor

Sra. Socorro Flores Liera

Second Secretary

Pakistan

Appointment:

Ms. Mariam Madiha Aftab

Third Secretary

Philippines

Departure:

Mrs. Linglingay F. Lacanlale

Minister

Deputy Permanent Representative

Romania

Appointments:

M. Razvan Victor Rusu

First Secretary

Mme Alexandrina Livia Rusu

Mme Alexandrina Livia Rusu

Third Secretary

M. Razvan Victor Rusu

Departure:

Mme Victoria Sandru

Counsellor

Russian Federation

Promotion:

Mr. Dmitriy V. Spirin

Second Secretary

Departure:

Mr. Serguei A. Ershov

Second Secretary

Saudi Arabia

Appointment:

H.E. Mr. Fawzi A. Shobokshi

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary

Permanent Representative

(The new Permanent Representative presented his credentials to

the Secretary-General on 6 May 1999.)

Promotion:

Mr. Mahmoud M. Al-Naman

Second Secretary

ST/SG/SER.A/281/Add.14 3

South Africa

Promotions:

Mr. Andries Christian **Dormehl** First Secretary

Mr. Percival M. **Mofokeng** Second Secretary

Mr. Samuel S. **Sibeko** Second Secretary

United States of America

Departure:

Ms. Elizabeth A. Sharrier Adviser

Other movements

The following Permanent Representatives have temporarily left New York:

Antigua and Barbuda

H.E. Dr. Patrick Albert **Lewis**. During his absence, H.E. Dr. John William **Ashe**, Ambassador, Deputy Permanent Representative, will be acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

Bangladesh

H.E. Mr. Anwarul Karim **Chowdhury**. During his absence, Mr. F. A. Shamim **Ahmed**, Minister, Deputy Permanent Represent-ative, will be acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

Canada

H.E. Mr. Robert R. **Fowler**. During his absence, H.E. Mr. Mi-chel **Duval**, Ambassador, Deputy Permanent Representative, will be acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

Eritrea

H.E. Mr. Haile **Menkerios**. During his absence, Mr. Tesfa Alem **Seyoum**, First Secretary, will be acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

Guatemala

H.E. Sr. Gert **Rosenthal**. During his absence, Sr. Luis Raúl **Estévez-López**, Minister Plenipotentiary, Alternate Permanent Representative, will be acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

Haiti

H.E. M. Pierre **Lelong**. During his absence, M. Antonio **Rodrigue**, Minister Counsellor, will be acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

Indonesia

H.E. Dr. Makarim **Wibisono**. During his absence, H.E. Mr. Arizal **Effendi**, Ambassador, Deputy Permanent Representative, will be acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

Slovakia

H.E. Mr. Peter **Tomka**. During his absence, Mr. Miloš **Koterec**, First Secretary, will be acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

Trinidad and Tobago

H.E. Mr. George Winston **McKenzie**. During his absence, Mrs. Yvonne **Gittens-Joseph**, Minister, Deputy Permanent Representative, will be acting as Chargé d'affaires a.i.

The following Permanent Representatives have returned and re-sumed their functions:

Argentina

H.E. Sr. Fernando Enrique Petrella

Jordan

H.E. Mr. Hasan Abu-Nimah

Kuwait

H.E. Mr. Mohammad A. Abulhasan

Namibia

H.E. Mr. Martin Andjaba

Spain

H.E. Sr. Inocencio F. Arias

Uruguay

H.E. Sr. Jorge Pérez-Otermin

Observers*

Switzerland

Departure:

M. Olivier **Desarzens** First Secretary

League of Arab States

Appointment:

Ms. Randa Ali Ahmed **Abbas** Attaché

International Committee of the Red Cross

Appointments:

Ms. Suzanne Blanc

Attaché

Ms. Béatrice **Jequier** Administrative Attaché

Departure:

Ms. Christine **Crevoisier** Administrative Attaché

^{*} Observers are listed herein for convenience of reference.

4 ST/SG/SER.A/281/Add.14

__