

## **Security Council**

Distr. GENERAL

S/1999/47 15 January 1999 ENGLISH

ORIGINAL: FRENCH

LETTER DATED 14 JANUARY 1999 FROM THE PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF GERMANY TO THE UNITED NATIONS ADDRESSED TO THE SECRETARY-GENERAL

I have the honour to bring to your attention the statement by the Presidency of the European Union on Sierra Leone issued on 12 January 1999 (see annex).

I should be grateful if you would have the text of this letter and its annex circulated as a document of the Security Council.

(<u>Signed</u>) Dieter KASTRUP

Permanent Representative of
Germany to the United Nations

99-00986 (E) 150199 150199

## Annex

[Original: English and French]

## Statement by the Presidency of the European Union on Sierra Leone issued on 12 January 1999

The European Union strongly condemns the latest attempt to overthrow the democratically elected Government of Sierra Leone and reiterates its full support for President Kabbah and his Government. The European Union commends the role of the Monitoring Group (ECOMOG) of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the Special Representative of the Secretary-General of the United Nations and the United Nations Observer Mission in Sierra Leone (UNOMSIL). The European Union will continue to support ECOMOG's efforts to restore peace and stability in Sierra Leone and will provide appropriate humanitarian assistance for those in need.

The European Union strongly condemns all those who have supported the rebels in Sierra Leone and expresses its grave concern at reports that arms and personnel are being supplied, in particular, from the territory of Liberia. It calls on all States to comply strictly with existing arms embargoes.

The European Union will continue to support all diplomatic efforts aimed at the restoration of peace and security in Sierra Leone and calls on all parties to protect civilians. It welcomes offers of dialogue and mediation from States in the region. In this context, the European Union endorses the approach agreed upon at the ECOWAS meeting of the Committee of Six on Sierra Leone in Abidjan on 28 December 1998.

The Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union, the associated country Cyprus and the European Free Trade Association countries, members of the European Economic Area align themselves with this statement.

----