





Distr.: General 27 November 1998

English

Original: Arabic

Fifty-third session

Agenda item 17 (b)

Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Tammam Sulaiman (Syrian Arab Republic)

- 1. At its 3rd plenary meeting, on 15 September 1998, the General Assembly, on the recommendation of the General Committee, decided to include in the agenda of its fifty-third session the item entitled "Appointments to fill vacancies in subsidiary organs and other appointments: appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions".
- 2. At its 20th meeting, on 6 November 1998, the Fifth Committee had before it a note by the Secretary-General (A/53/102) concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Committee on Contributions that will occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of six of its members on 31 December 1998.
- 3. The Fifth Committee also had before it a note by the Secretary-General (A/C.5/53/6) containing the names of seven persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1999.
- 4. At the same meeting, the Fifth Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend the appointment to the Committee on Contributions, for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1999, of Pieter Johannes Bierma (Netherlands), Paul Ekorong A Ndong (Cameroon), Henry Hanson-Hall (Ghana) and Neil Hewitt Francis (Australia).
- 5. The Committee also decided, without prejudice to rule 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly, to recommend, by acclamation, the appointment to the Committee on Contributions of Sergio Chaparro Ruiz (Chile) for a term of office beginning on 1 January 1999 to 31 December 2000, Eduardo Iglesias (Argentina) for a term beginning on 1 January to 31 December 1999 and from 1 January to 31 December 2001 and Bernardo Greiver (Uruguay) for a term of office beginning on 1 January 2000 to 31 December 2001.

Recommendation of the Fifth Committee

6. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly appoint the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1999:

Pieter Johannes Bierma

Paul Ekorong A Ndong

Neil Hewitt Francis

Henry Hanson-Hall

7. The Fifth Committee also recommends that the General Assembly appoint the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a term of office as indicated below:

Sergio Chaparro Ruiz (Chile) from 1 January 1999 to 31 December 2000

Bernardo Greiver (Uruguay) from 1 January 2000 to 31 December 2001

Eduardo Iglesias (Argentina) from 1 January to 31 December 1999 and from 1 January to 31 December 2001