

Distr.: General 27 August 1998

Original: English

Fifty-second session Agenda item 163 Election of judges of the International Tribunal for the Prosecution of Persons Responsible for Serious Violations of International Humanitarian Law committed in the Territory of the Former Yugoslavia since 1991

Letter dated 27 August 1998 from the President of the Security Council addressed to the President of the General Assembly

I have the honour to transmit the text of resolution 1191 (1998), adopted unanimously by the Security Council at its 3919th meeting, held on 27 August 1998.

Resolution 1191 (1998) reads as follows:

"The Security Council,

"*Recalling* its resolutions 808 (1993) of 22 February 1993, 827 (1993) of 25 May 1993 and 1166 (1998) of 13 May 1998,

"Having decided to consider the nominations for judges of the International Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia received by the Secretary-General by 4 August 1998,

"Forwards the following nominations to the General Assembly in accordance with the article 13 (d) of the Statute of the International Tribunal:

Mr. Mohamed Bennouna (Morocco)

Mr. David Hunt (Australia)

Mr. Per-Johan Lindholm (Finland)

Mr. Hugo Anibal Llanos Mansilla (Chile)

Mr. Patrick Robinson (Jamaica)

Mr. Jan Skupinski (Poland)

Mr. S. W. B. Vadugodapitiya (Sri Lanka)

Mr. Luis Valencia-Rodríguez (Ecuador)

Mr. Peter H. Wilkitzki (Germany)

(*Signed*) Danilo **Türk** President of the Security Council

98-25103 (E) 270898