

General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/52/674 12 November 1997 ENGLISH ORIGINAL: ARABIC

Fifty-second session Agenda item 17 (e)

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of members of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Djamel MOKTEFI (Algeria)

1. At its 24th meeting, on 7 November 1997, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/52/105) concerning the vacancies in the membership of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal that will occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of three of its members on 31 December 1997.

2. The Fifth Committee also had before it a note by the Secretary-General (A/C.5/52/9), containing the names of three persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment to the Administrative Tribunal for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1998.

3. The Fifth Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly that it should appoint Mr. Chittharanjan Felix Amerasinghe (Sri Lanka), Mr. Balanda Mikuin Leliel (Democratic Republic of the Congo) and Mr. Hubert Thierry (France) as members of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1998.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

4. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly should appoint the following persons as members of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1998:

Mr. Chittharanjan Felix Amerasinghe

Mr. Balanda Mikuin Leliel

Mr. Hubert Thierry.
