UNITED NATIONS





## **General Assembly**

Distr. GENERAL

A/36/611 20 October 1981

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-sixth session Agenda item 18 (h)

APPOINTMENT OF THE MEMBERS OF THE PEACE OBSERVATION COMMISSION

## Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Peace Observation Commission was established by the General Assembly under resolution 377 A (V) of 3 November 1950. By decision 34/324 of 20 December 1979, the General Assembly decided to reappoint for the years 1980 and 1981 the following 12 members of the Commission: Czechoslovakia, France, Honduras, India, Israel, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sweden, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America and Uruguay.
- 2. In view of the fact that the terms of office of the present members of the Peace Observation Commission expire on 31 December 1981, the General Assembly will be required at its thirty-sixth session to consider the question of the membership of the Commission.