UNITED
NATIONS



Economic and Social Council

Distr.
GENERAL

E/CN.4/Sub.2/AC.2/1997/3 23 May 1997

Original: ENGLISH

COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS
Sub-Commission on Prevention of
Discrimination and Protection
of Minorities
Working Group on Contemporary
Forms of Slavery
Twenty-second session
2-11 June 1997
Item 3 (a) of the provisional agenda

REVIEW OF THE IMPLEMENTATION OF AND FOLLOW-UP TO THE CONVENTIONS ON SLAVERY

STATUS OF THE CONVENTIONS

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. At 31 December 1996, the Convention for the Suppression of the Traffic in Persons and the Exploitation of the Prostitution of Others had been ratified or acceded to by the following 71 States: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Djibouti, Ecuador, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Iraq, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Luxembourg, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Niger, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Syrian Arab Republic, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen, Yugoslavia, Zimbabwe.
- 2. The Convention had been signed by Denmark, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Liberia and Myanmar.
