



Distr. LIMITED

E/1997/L.22 30 June 1997

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Substantive session of 1997 Geneva, 30 June-25 July 1997 Item 1 of the provisional agenda*

ADOPTION OF THE AGENDA AND OTHER ORGANIZATIONAL MATTERS

Appointment of members of the Committee for Development Planning

Note by the Secretary-General

In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolutions 1079 (XXIX), $1625 \, (LI)$ and 1995/215, the Secretary-General has the honour to propose to extend the term of appointment of 24 experts, whose names and titles are listed below, in their personal capacity, as members of the Committee for Development Planning for one year, beginning on 1 January 1998. The relevant biographical information on them was presented to the Council at the time of their initial appointment (see E/1987/10, E/1988/41, E/1990/11 and E/1995/116).

LIST OF NOMINEES

AGUSZTINOVICS, Maria (Hungary): Professor of Economics, University of Budapest.

CARNEIRO-NETTO, Dionisio Dias (Brazil): Professor of Economics, University of Rio de Janeiro.

DIOUF, Makhtar (Senegal): Dean of Economics, University of St. Louis, Dakar; Chairman, Centre for Applied Economics.

EL-HINNAWI, E. (Egypt): Professor, National Research Centre, Cairo.

FAALAND, Just (Norway): Member, Christian Michelsen Institute, Bergen.

^{*} E/1997/100.

GAO, Shangquan (China): Member, Overall Research and Coordinating Panel on National Economic and Social Development of the State Council, Beijing.

GUILLAUMONT, Patrick (France): Director, Centre for Study and Research for International Development, and Professor of Economics, University of Clermont-Ferrand.

HIRONO, Ryokichi (Japan): Professor of Economics, Seikei University, Tokyo.

ISLAM, Nurul (Bangladesh): Fellow Emeritus, International Food Policy Research Institute, Washington, D.C.

KATSELI, Louka T. (Greece): Professor of Economics, University of Athens.

KANAAN, Taher (Jordan): Consultant in economics and business, Amman.

LIM, Linda (Singapore): Research Director, South-East Asia Business Program, Centre for South and South-East Asia Studies, University of Michigan.

LIPUMBA, Nguyuru H.I. (United Republic of Tanzania): Professor of Economics, University of Dar es Salaam.

LUSTIG, Nora (Argentina/Mexico): Senior Fellow, Brookings Institute, Washington D.C.; Professor of Economics, Centre of Economic Studies, El Colegio de Mexico.

MONSOD, Solita C. (Philippines): Professor of Economics, University of the Philippines, Manila.

PERSAUD, Bishnodat (Guyana): Coordinator for International Economic Negotiations, CARICOM, London.

SAWYERR, Akilagpa (Ghana): Director of Research, Association of African Universities, Accra.

SCHWAB, Klaus (Germany): President of the Foundation Board, World Economic Forum, Geneva.

SENGUPTA, Arjun (India): Member, Planning Commission of India, New Delhi.

SHOKHIN, Alexandre (Russian Federation): Member, State Duma (Parliament).

STEWART, Frances (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland): Director, International Development Centre, Oxford University.

TAYLOR, Lance (United States of America): Professor of Economics, New School for Social Research.

 ${\tt UMA\~NA}$, Alvaro (Costa Rica): Associate Professor and Director of Natural Resources, Management Programme of the Central American Business Institute (INCAE).

URRUTIA, Miguel (Colombia): Chairman, Board of Directors, Central Bank of Colombia, Bogotá.
