



General Assembly Security Council

Distr. GENERAL

A/36/302 s/14502 14 September 1981

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

GENERAL ASSEMBLY Thirty-sixth session Item 15 (c) of the provisional agenda* ELECTION OF FIVE MEMBERS OF THE INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

SECURITY COUNCIL Thirty-sixth year

List of candidates nominated by national groups

Note by the Secretary-General

1. By a communication dated 21 January 1981, addressed to States Parties to the Statute of the International Court of Justice the Secretary-General drew attention to the fact that the terms of office of the following five members of the International Court of Justice would expire on 5 February 1982:

Sir Humphrey Waldock** (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) Mr. Isaac Forster (Senegal) Mr. André Gros (France) Mr. Nagendra Singh (India) Mr. José María Ruda (Argentina)

× A/36/150.

Sir Humphrey Waldock died on 15 August 1981. In this connexion, ** attention is drawn to the note verbale of 25 August 1981 from the President of the Security Council to the Secretary-General (A/36/451-S/14645), in which the Council has placed on record that, as the vacancy which had resulted from Sir Humphrey Waldock's death would be filled through the regular election procedure as at 6 February 1982, the Council considered that no purpose would be served by invoking the procedures of the Statute relating to the filling of the casual vacancy for the remainder of Sir Humphrey's term of office. In the light of this, the Secretary-General has not proceeded with the issue of invitations for nominations to fill the casual vacancy.

81-23175 2804f (E)

A/36/302 S/14502 English Page 2

In conformity with Articles 4 and 13 of the Statute of the Court, the General Assembly and the Security Council, during the thirty-sixth regular session of the General Assembly, will elect five judges for a period of nine years, beginning on 6 February 1982. The Secretary-General, in accordance with paragraph 1 of Article 5 of the Statute of the Court, invited national groups to undertake the nomination of persons in a position to accept the duties of a member of the Court, and requested that the nomination should be sent so as to reach him no later than 15 August 1981.

2. In accordance with Article 7 of the Statute, the Secretary-General has the honour to submit to the General Assembly and to the Security Council a list of the candidates in alphabetical order thus nominated (see annex).

3. The composition of the Court and the voting procedure to be followed in the General Assembly and in the Security Council are contained in a memorandum by the Secretary-General, issued as document A/36/301-S/14501. The curriculae vitae of the candidates will appear in document A/36/303-S/14503.

1...

A/36/320 S/14502 English Annex Page l

ANNEX

List of candidates

Name and nationality	Nominated by national group of
CALLE y CALLE, Juan José (Peru)	Austria
• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	Bulgaria
	Peru
	Yugoslavia
De LACHARRIERE, Guy Ladreit (France)	Canada
	Dominican Republic
	Finland
	France
	Greece
	India
	Liechtenstein
	Mexico
	Senegal
	Switzerland
	United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
	United States of America
DOUGLAS, William (Barbados)	Barbados
	Dominica
FRANCIS, Laurel B. (Jamaica)	Jamaica
	Netherlands
GOMEZ ROBLEDO, Antonio (Mexico)	Brazil
	Finland
	Greece
	India
	Mexico
	Senegal
HAQ, Anwarul S. (Pakistan)	Dominican Republic
	Pakistan
JAYEWARDENE, Hector W. (Sri Lanka)	Sri Lanka

A/36/302 S/14502 English Annex Page 2

List of candidates (continued) Nominated by national group of Name and nationality JENNINGS, Robert Y. (United Kingdom of Great . Austria Britain and Northern Canada Ireland) Denmark Dominican Republic France Greece India Italy Liechtenstein Luxembourg Netherlands Switzerland United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United States of America Uruguay LAUTERPACHT, Eli (United Kingdom of Great . . . Sweden Britain and Northern Ireland) Canada Cape Verde France Guinea Mali Mexico Morocco Netherlands Senegal Thailand United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland Uruguay

A/36/320 S/14502 English Annex Page 3

List of candidates (continued)

Name and nationality	Nominated by national group of
NAGENDRA SINGH (India)	Argentina
	Belgium
	Bhutan
	Brazil
	Bulgaria
	Denmark
	Fiji
	France
	Germany, Federal Republic of
	Greece
	Hungary
	India
	Liechtenstein
	Luxembourg
	Mauritius
	Mexico
	Nepal
	Nicaragua
	Norway
	Saint Lucia
	Seychelles
	Sierra Leone
	Solomon Islands
	Sweden
	Switzerland
	Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
	United States of America
RAZAFINDRALAMBO, Edilbert (Madagascar)	Belgium
	Denmark
	Finland
	Germany, Federal Republic of
	Italy
	Madagascar
	Norway
	Sweden
	Yugoslavia

A/36/302 S/14502 English Annex Page 4

List of candidates (continued)

Name and nationality	Nominated by national group of
RAULT, Maurice (Mauritius)	Mauritius
REUTER, Paul (France)	Austria Belgium Brazil Italy Luxembourg
RUDA, José María (Argentina)	Argentina Belgium Brazil Denmark Germany, Federal Republic of Italy Liechtenstein Luxembourg Norway Sweden Switzerland Thailand United States of America Uruguay
SUFFIAN, Tun Mohamed (Malaysia)	Australia Austria Canada Fiji Finland Indonesia Malaysia Netherlands New Zealand Papua New Guinea Singapore Thailand Uruguay
