



## **General Assembly**

Distr. GENERAL

A/52/101/Rev.1 20 May 1997

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Fifty-second session

Item 17 (a) of the preliminary list\*

# APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

#### Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 155 and 156 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

#### "Rule 155

"The General Assembly shall appoint an Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions consisting of sixteen members, including at least three financial experts of recognized standing.

### "<u>Rule 156</u>

"The members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The three financial experts shall not retire simultaneously. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Advisory Committee at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

\_

<sup>\*</sup> A/52/50.

2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:

```
Mr. Syed Akbaruddin (India) **
```

Ms. Denise Almao (New Zealand) \*\*\*

Mr. Ahmad Fathi Al-Masri (Syrian Arab Republic)\*

Mr. Ammar Amari (Tunisia)\*\*\*

Mr. Ioan Barac (Romania)\*

Mr. Leonid Efimovich Bidnyi (Russian Federation) \*\*\*

Mr. Gérard Biraud (France) \*\*\*

Mrs. Norma Goicochea Estenoz (Cuba) \*\*\*

Mr. Mahamane Maiga (Mali)\*

Mr. José Antônio Marcondes de Carvalho (Brazil) \*\*

Mr. E. Besley Maycock (Barbados)\*

Mr. C. S. M. Mselle (United Republic of Tanzania)\*

Mr. Klaus Stein (Germany) \*\*

Mr. Tang Guangting (China) \*\*

Mr. Fumiaki Toya (Japan) \*\*

Mr. Giovanni Luigi Valenza (Italy)\*\*

3. Since the terms of office of Mr. Al-Masri, Mr. Barac, Mr. Maiga, Mr. Maycock and Mr. Mselle will expire on 31 December 1997, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its fifty-second session, to appoint five persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1998.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the fifty-second session.

----

<sup>\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 1997.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 1998.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 1999.