

Distr. LIMITED

E/1997/L.11 8 April 1997

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Resumed organizational session for 1997 1 and 2 May 1997 Agenda item 8

ELECTIONS, NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

Nomination of 7 members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Committee for Programme and Coordination has 34 members. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the Council is required to nominate 7 members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination for election by the General Assembly at its fifty-second session to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 1997 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bahamas, Benin, France, Ghana, Mexico, Russian Federation and United States of America. The term is three years, beginning on 1 January 1998.
- 2. The Council is reminded that the General Assembly, in section III of its resolution 3392 (XXX) on the review of the intergovernmental and expert machinery dealing with the formulation, review and approval of programmes and budgets, encouraged Member States to be represented in the Committee for Programme and Coordination at an adequate level in order to raise the expertise of the Committee.
- 3. The vacancies are to be filled according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Two members from African States;
 - (b) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (c) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (d) Two members from Western European and other States.

- 4. In addition, the Council is to nominate two members from Western European and other States for election by the General Assembly at its fifty-first session for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1999 (see Assembly decision 51/305).
- 5. The membership of the Committee in 1997 is given in the annex below.

<u>Annex</u>

COMMITTEE FOR PROGRAMME AND COORDINATION

(34 members; three-year term)

Membership in 1997

Nine members from African States

Benin* (1997), Cameroon (1999), Congo (1999), Egypt (1998), Ghana* (1997), Nigeria (1999), Togo (1998), Zaire (1998), Zimbabwe (1999)

Seven members from Asian States

China (1998), Indonesia (1999), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (1999), Japan (1998), Pakistan (1999), Republic of Korea (1998), Thailand (1999)

Four members from Eastern European States

Poland (1999), Romania (1999), Russian Federation* (1997), Ukraine (1999)

Seven members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina (1999), Bahamas* (1997), Brazil (1999), Mexico* (1997), Nicaragua (1999), Trinidad and Tobago (1999), Uruguay (1998)

Seven members from Western European and other States^a

Austria (1999), France* (1997), Germany (1999), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (1999), United States of America* (1997)

^{*} Retiring member.

^a There are two vacancies in this group (see para. 4 above).