



Distr. LIMITED

E/1997/L.10 8 April 1997

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Resumed organizational session for 1997 1 and 2 May 1997 Agenda item 8

ELECTIONS, NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

Election of 14 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. In accordance with General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 1997, 14 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1998, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 1997 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Angola, Azerbaijan, Burundi, India, Japan, Kenya, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Republic of Korea, Sweden, Uganda and Venezuela.
- 3. The 14 members will be elected on the following basis:
 - (a) Five members from African States;
 - (b) Three members from Asian States;
 - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (d) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The current membership of the Executive Board is given in the annex below.

<u>Annex</u>

EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE UNITED NATIONS CHILDREN'S FUND

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 1997

Eight seats for African States

Angola* (1997), Burundi* (1997), Cape Verde (1999), Kenya* (1997), Morocco* (1997), Namibia (1998), Nigeria (1999), Uganda* (1997)

Seven seats for Asian States

China (1998), India* (1997), Indonesia (1999), Oman (1999), Pakistan* (1997), Republic of Korea* (1997), Viet Nam (1998)

Four seats for Eastern European States

Azerbaijan* (1997), Czech Republic (1999), Russian Federation (1998), Ukraine (1998)

Five seats for Latin American and Caribbean States

Cuba (1998), Jamaica (1999), Nicaragua (1999), Suriname (1998), Venezuela* (1997)

Twelve seats for Western European and other States

Belgium (1999), Denmark (1998), Germany (1999), Italy (1999), Japan* (1997), Netherlands* (1997), New Zealand (1998), Norway* (1997), Sweden* (1997), Switzerland (1998), Turkey (1998), United States of America (1999)

^{*} Retiring member.