UNITED NATIONS





General Assembly Security Council

Distr.
GENERAL

A/51/840 S/1997/246 24 March 1997 ENGLISH ORIGINAL: FRENCH

GENERAL ASSEMBLY
Fifty-first session
Agenda item 81
REVIEW OF THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE
DECLARATION ON THE STRENGTHENING
OF INTERNATIONAL SECURITY

SECURITY COUNCIL Fifty-second year

Letter dated 21 March 1997 from the Chargé d'affaires a.i. of the Permanent Mission of the Netherlands to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

I have the honour to bring to your attention the declaration by the Presidency of the European Union on the inter-Tajik peace talks issued on 12 March 1997 (see annex).

I should be grateful if you would have the text of this letter and its annex circulated as an official document of the fifty-first session of the General Assembly, under agenda item 81, and of the Security Council.

(<u>Signed</u>) J. BERTELING
Chargé d'affaires a.i.
Deputy Permanent Representative of
the Netherlands to the United Nations

A/51/840 S/1997/246 English Page 2

ANNEX

[Original: English and French]

Declaration by the Presidency of the European Union on the inter-Tajik peace talks issued on 12 March 1997

The European Union welcomes the results of the latest talks in Mashhad and Moscow between the Tajik Government and the United Tajik Opposition. In both rounds significant progress was made in the implementation of the 23 December 1996 Moscow Agreement. The success of the Tajik peace process is vital for the stabilization of the entire Central Asian region and the security and prosperity of its peoples. The European Union therefore hopes that the Commission for National Reconciliation will soon be able to start its work towards the establishment of a lasting peace in Tajikistan. It calls upon all parties in Tajikistan to cooperate with the Commission. The European Union further calls upon all parties to the conflict to ensure the safety of United Nations and other personnel engaged in the provision of aid and assistance in Tajikistan and to avoid any hostage taking.

The Central and Eastern European countries associated with the European Union, Cyprus, Iceland and Norway align themselves with this declaration.
