

Security Council

Distr. GENERAL

S/1996/15/Add.44 15 November 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

SUMMARY STATEMENT BY THE SECRETARY-GENERAL ON MATTERS OF WHICH THE SECURITY COUNCIL IS SEIZED AND ON THE STAGE REACHED IN THEIR CONSIDERATION

<u>Addendum</u>

Pursuant to rule 11 of the provisional rules of procedure of the Security Council, the Secretary-General is submitting the following summary statement.

The list of items of which the Security Council is seized is contained in documents S/1996/15 of 11 January 1996, S/1996/15/Add.4 of 9 February 1996, S/1996/15/Add.8 of 8 March 1996, S/1996/15/Add.14 of 19 April 1996 S/1996/15/Add.18 of 17 May 1996, S/1996/15/Add.32 of 23 August 1996, S/1996/15/Add.41 of 25 October 1996 and S/1996/15/Add.43 of 8 November 1996.

During the week ending 9 November 1996, at its 3709th meeting, held on 6 November 1996, the Security Council proceeded to the election of the five members of the International Court of Justice, in accordance with article 13 of the Statute of the Court, to fill the five seats that will become vacant on 5 February 1997 on the expiry of the term of office of five Judges.

On the first ballot, Mr. Mohammed Bedjaoui (Algeria), Mr. Pieter H. Kooijmans (Netherlands), Mr. Stephen M. Schwebel (United States of America) and Mr. Vladlen S. Vereshchetin (Russian Federation) received the required majority of votes in the Security Council.

Since only four candidates had received the required absolute majority of votes in the Security Council on the first ballot, the Council had to proceed to a second ballot for the remaining vacancy, in accordance with rule 61 of the Council's provisional rules of procedure.

Since, after the second ballot, no candidate had received the required majority of votes, the Council had to proceed to a third ballot for the remaining vacancy, in accordance with rule 61 of the Council's provisional rules of procedure.

On the third ballot, Mr. Francisco Rezek (Brazil) received the required absolute majority of votes in the Security Council. As Mr. Mohammed Bedjaoui, Mr. Pieter H. Kooijmans, Mr. Francisco Rezek, Mr. Stephen M. Schwebel and

Mr. Vladlen S. Vereshchetin also received the required majority of votes in the General Assembly, they were declared elected members of the International Court of Justice for a term of office of nine years, beginning on 6 February 1997.

Also, during the week ending 9 November 1996, the Security Council took action on the following item:

The situation in the Great Lakes region (see S/1996/15/Add.43)

The Security Council resumed its consideration of the item at its 3710th meeting, held on 9 November 1996, in accordance with the understanding reached in its prior consultations, having before it a letter dated 7 November 1996 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council (S/1996/916).

The President, with the consent of the Council, invited the representatives of Burundi, Rwanda and Zaire, at their request, to participate in the discussion without the right to vote.

The President drew attention to the text of a draft resolution (S/1996/921) which had been prepared in the course of the Council's prior consultations.

The Security Council proceeded to vote on draft resolution S/1996/921 and adopted it unanimously as resolution 1078 (1996) (for the text, see S/RES/1078 (1996); to be issued in <u>Official Records of the Security Council</u>, Fifty-first Year, Resolutions and <u>Decisions of the Security Council</u>, 1996).
