UNITED NATIONS



GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/33/222/Rev.l S/12829/Rev.l 26 October 1978

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

GENERAL ASSEMBLY
Thirty-third session
Agenda item 17
ELECTION OF FIVE MEMBERS OF THE
INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

SECURITY COUNCIL Thirty-third year

List of candidates nominated by national groups

Note by the Secretary-General

1. By a communication dated 18 January 1978, the Secretary-General, in accordance with Article 5 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice, invited national groups to undertake the nomination of candidates for the election, to be held during the thirty-third regular session of the General Assembly, to fill the five vacancies in the International Court of Justice which will occur on 5 February 1979 when the terms of office of the following five members of the Court expire:

Mr. E. Jiménez de Aréchaga (Uruguay);

Mr. H. C. Dillard (United States of America);

Mr. L. Ignacio-Pinto (Benin);

Mr. F. de Castro (Spain);

Mr. P. D. Morozov (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics).

- 2. An alphabetical list of candidates, as required by Article 7 of the Statute of the Court, was circulated to the General Assembly and to the Security Council by the Secretary-General in document A/33/222-S/12829. That list contained information available as at 15 September 1978. Subsequent nominations and other information relating to candidatures were circulated in addenda 1 and 2 to that document. The present revision incorporates the information contained in documents A/33/222-S/12829 and Add.1 and 2.
- 3. The composition of the Court and the voting procedure to be followed in the General Assembly and in the Security Council are described in a memorandum by the Secretary-General (A/33/221-S/12828 and Corr.1). The curricula vitae of the candidates have been circulated in document A/33/223/Rev.1-S/12830/Rev.1.

1 ...

ANNEX

List of candidates

Name and nationality of candidate	Nominated by national group of
AGO, Roberto (Italy)	Argentina Australia Austria Belgium Brazil Bulgaria Canada Dominican Republic Denmark France Germany, Federal Republic of Greece Italy Japan Lebanon Liechtenstein Luxembourg Mexico Netherlands New Zealand Norway Panama Peru Philippines Spain Sweden Switzerland Thailand United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United States of America Uruguay Venezuela Yugoslavia
BAXTER, Richard R. (United States of America)	 Argentina Australia Brazil Canada Chile Dominican Republic Iceland

A/33/222/Rev.l S/12829/Rev.l English Annex Page 2

Name and nationality of candidate

Nominated by national group of

Italy

New Zealand

United Kingdom of Great Britain

and Northern Ireland United States of America

Uruguay

BINDSCHEDLER, Rudolf L. (Switzerland) . . Liechtenstein

Switzerland

BOISSIER PALUN, Léon (Benin) Ivory Coast

Upper Volta

EL-ERIAN, Abdullah Ali (Egypt) Argentina

Australia

Austria

Belgium

Canada

Chile

Cyprus

Egypt

France

Germany, Federal Republic of

India

Lebanon

Liechtenstein

Mexico

Netherlands

New Zealand

Peru

Spain

Sweden

Switzerland

Thailand

United Kingdom of Great Britain

and Northern Ireland

United States of America

Uruguay

Yugoslavia

JAYEWARDENE, H. W. (Sri Lanka) Afghanistan

Bhutan

Bulgaria

Cyprus

Dominican Republic

/...

Name and nationality of candidate	Nominated by national group of
	India Lebanon Malaysia Nepal Pakistan Philippines Sri Lanka Yugoslavia
MANNER, Eero J. (Finland)	Austria Denmark Finland Hungary Iceland India Norway Sweden
McDOUGAL, Myres S. (United States of America)	Panama.
MOROZOV, Platon Dmitrievich (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics)	Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
N'DIAYE, Amadou (Mali)	Mali
RAZAFINDRALAMBO, Edilbert (Madagascar)	Belgium Denmark Madagascar
SETTE CAMARA, José (Brazil)	Argentina Australia Austria Belgium Brazil Bulgaria Canada Chile Ecuador France Germany, Federal Republic of Greece India

A/33/222/Rev.l S/12829/Rev.l English Annex Page 4

Name and nationality of candidate

Nominated by national group of

Netherlands
New Zealand
Panama
Peru
Philippines
Spain
Sweden
Thailand
United Kingdom of Great Britain
and Northern Ireland
United States of America
Uruguay
Venezuela
Yugoslavia