

General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/51/672 12 November 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Fifty-first session Agenda item 18 (b)

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Igor V. GOUMENNY (Ukraine)

1. At its 24th meeting, on 8 November 1996, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/51/102) concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Committee on Contributions that will occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of six of its members on 31 December 1996.

2. The Fifth Committee also had before it a note by the Secretary-General (A/C.5/51/12) containing the names of eight persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment or reappointment to the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1997.

3. The Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend the appointment to the Committee on Contributions, for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1997, of Mr. Iqbal Akhund (Pakistan), Mr. Evgueni N. Deineko (Russian Federation) and Mr. Ju Kuilin (China).

4. The Fifth Committee proceeded to elect by secret ballot one person from the candidates proposed by States from the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States. The result of the voting was as follows:

Number of ballot papers:	178
Invalid ballots:	4
Number of valid ballots:	174
Abstentions:	0

Number of members voting:	174
Required majority:	88
Number of votes obtained:	
Mr. Alvaro Gurgel de Alencar	116
Mr. Carlos Bivero	58

5. Having obtained the required majority of votes, Mr. Alvaro Gurgel de Alencar (Brazil) was declared recommended for appointment as a member of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1997.

6. The Fifth Committee then proceeded to elect by secret ballot two persons from the candidates proposed by States from the Group of Western European and Other States. The result of the voting was as follows:

Number of ballot papers:	179
Invalid ballots:	0
Number of valid ballots:	179
<u>Abstentions</u> :	0
Number of members voting:	179
Required majority:	90
Number of votes obtained:	
Mr. Ugo Sessi	151
Ms. Isabelle Klais	127
Mr. Adrien Teirlinck	77

7. Having obtained the required majority of votes, Mr. Ugo Sessi (Italy) and Ms. Isabelle Klais (Germany) were declared recommended for appointment as members of Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1997.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

8. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly should appoint the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1997:

Mr. Iqbal Akhund;

- Mr. Evgueni N. Deineko;
- Mr. Alvaro Gurgel de Alencar;
- Mr. Ju Kuilin;
- Ms. Isabelle Klais;
- Mr. Ugo Sessi.
