

General Assembly Security Council

Distr. GENERAL

A/51/334 S/1996/723 6 September 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

SECURITY COUNCIL

Fifty-first year

GENERAL ASSEMBLY Fifty-first session Item 15 (c) of the provisional agenda* ELECTIONS TO FILL VACANCIES IN PRINCIPAL ORGANS: ELECTION OF FIVE MEMBERS OF THE INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

List of candidates nominated by national groups

Note by the Secretary-General

1. By a communication dated 12 February 1996, addressed on behalf of the Secretary-General to States parties to the Statute of the International Court of Justice, attention was drawn to the fact that the terms of office of the following five members of the International Court of Justice will expire on 5 February 1997:

Mr. Mohammed Bedjaoui (Algeria)Mr. Stephen M. Schwebel (United States of America)Mr. Mohamed Shahabuddeen (Guyana)Mr. Vladlen S. Vereshchetin (Russian Federation)Mr. Luigi Ferrari Bravo (Italy)

2. In conformity with Articles 4 and 13 of the Statute of the Court, the General Assembly and the Security Council, during the fifty-first session of the General Assembly, will elect five judges for a period of nine years, beginning on 6 February 1997. In accordance with paragraph 1 of Article 5 of the Statute of the Court, national groups were thus invited to undertake the nomination of persons in a position to accept the duties of a member of the Court and to submit such nomination to the Secretary-General no later than 31 August 1996.

* A/51/150.

96-23190 (E) 120996

A/51/334 S/1996/723 English Page 2

3. In accordance with Article 7 of the Statute of the Court, the Secretary-General has the honour to submit to the General Assembly and to the Security Council a list in alphabetical order of all the persons thus nominated (see annex).

4. The composition of the Court and the voting procedure to be followed in the General Assembly and in the Security Council will be set out in a memorandum by the Secretary-General, to be issued as document A/51/333-S/1996/722. The curricula vitae of the candidates will appear in document A/51/335-S/1996/724.

ANNEX

List of candidates nominated by national groups

Name and nationality

Azimov, Murat (Uzbekistan)

Güney, Mehmet (Turkey)

(Netherlands)

Kooijmans, Pieter H.

Bedjaoui, Mohammed (Algeria)

Nominated by the national group of

Uzbekistan

Algeria
Belgium
Bulgaria
Cameroon
Canada
Chile
Denmark
Finland
Germany
Greece
Ireland
Italy
Luxembourg
Mexico Romania
Slovakia
Spain
Sweden
United Kingdom of Great Britain and
Northern Ireland
Uruguay
oruguay
Bulgaria
Sudan
Turkey
*
Argentina
Australia
Austria
Canada
Denmark
Finland
Ireland
Mexico
Netherlands
Sweden
United Kingdom of Great Britain and
Northern Ireland
Venezuela

A/51/334 S/1996/723 English Page 4

Name and nationality	Nominated by the national group of
Orrego Vicuña, Francisco (Chile)	Belgium Chile Mexico Netherlands Spain Uruguay
Pastor Ridruejo, José Antonio (Spain)	Belgium Bolivia Chile El Salvador Germany Greece Italy Luxembourg Spain Switzerland Uruguay Venezuela Zimbabwe
Rezek, José Francisco (Brazil)	Brazil Bulgaria Germany
Robinson, Patrick (Jamaica)	Jamaica
Schwebel, Stephen M. (United States of America)	Australia Austria Canada Denmark Finland Germany Ireland Luxembourg Netherlands Slovakia Sweden United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United States of America
Shahabuddeen, Mohamed (Guyana)	Guyana Luxembourg Nigeria Slovakia Sweden

Name and nationality

Nominated by the national group of

Vereshchetin, Vladlen S. (Russian Federation) Austria Canada Denmark Finland Germany Ireland Italy Netherlands Russian Federation Slovakia Spain United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland United States of America
