



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/51/269 6 August 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Fifty-first session
Item 17 (b) of the provisional agenda*

ELECTIONS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER ELECTIONS

Election of twenty members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) of 14~May~1976 and General Assembly decision 42/450~of~17 December 1987, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly.
- 2. The membership of the Committee in 1996 is as follows (see General Assembly decision 50/305):

Argentina,* Bahamas,** Belarus,* Benin,** Brazil,* Cameroon,* Canada,* China,***, Comoros,* Congo,* Cuba,* Egypt,*** France,** Germany,* Ghana,** India,* Indonesia,* Iran (Islamic Republic of),* Japan,*** Mexico,** Netherlands,* Norway,* Pakistan,* Republic of Korea,*** Romania,* Russian Federation,** Senegal,* Togo,*** Trinidad and Tobago,* Ukraine,* United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,* United States of America,** Uruguay*** and Zaire***.

_

^{*} Term of office expires in 1996.

^{**} Term of office expires in 1997.

^{***} Term of office expires in 1998.

^{*} A/51/150.

- 3. The General Assembly, at its fifty-first session, will, therefore, be called upon to elect 20 members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur on 31 December 1996 upon the expiration of the terms of office of the following members: Argentina, Belarus, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Comoros, Congo, Cuba, Germany, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Romania, Senegal, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. In accordance with General Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:
 - (a) Four members from African States;
 - (b) Four members from Asian States;
 - (c) Three members from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Five members from Western European and other States.
- 4. By its decisions 1996/222 and 1996/297, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its fifty-first session, for a term of three years, beginning on 1 January 1997:
- (a) $\underline{\text{African States}}$ (four vacancies): Cameroon, Congo, Nigeria and Zimbabwe;
- (b) <u>Asian States</u> (four vacancies): Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Pakistan and Thailand;
- (c) <u>Eastern European States</u> (three vacancies): Bulgaria, Poland, Romania and Ukraine;
- (d) <u>Latin American and Caribbean States</u> (four vacancies): Argentina, Brazil, Nicaragua and Trinidad and Tobago;
- (e) <u>Western European and other States</u> (five vacancies): Austria, Germany, Netherlands and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
