UNITED NATIONS



Secretariat

ST/IC/1996/46 29 July 1996

INFORMATION CIRCULAR

To: Members of the staff

From: The Assistant Secretary-General for Human Resources Management

Subject: MEMBERSHIP OF THE APPOINTMENT AND PROMOTION BOARD AND OF THE HEADQUARTERS APPOINTMENT AND PROMOTION COMMITTEE*

1. The Secretary-General, in consultation with, and after consideration of a list of names proposed by the Staff Council, has appointed the following staff members as members and alternate members of the Appointment and Promotion Board and of the Headquarters Appointment and Promotion Committee to serve for 18 months from 24 July 1996 to 23 January 1998.

2. The composition of the Appointment and Promotion Board and the Appointment and Promotion Committee was established taking into account the need for a balanced geographical, departmental and gender representation. Also, in accordance with the recommendation of the Staff Management Coordination Committee at its fourteenth session, which was approved by the Secretary-General, a certain number of members from the former Board and Committee remain as members of the new Board and Committee for purposes of continuity.

I. APPOINTMENT AND PROMOTION BOARD

Members

Ms. Lyutha Al-Mughairy**

Promotion and Public Services Division Department of Public Information

** Members nominated by the Staff Council.

96-19129 (E) 300796

^{* &}lt;u>Personnel Manual</u> index No. 4110.

Mr. Joseph Chamie**	Population Division Department for Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis
Mr. Nitin Desai	Under-Secretary-General for Policy Coordination and Sustainable Development
Mr. Felix Downes-Thomas**	Complex Emergency Division Department of Humanitarian Affairs
Ms. Maria Maldonado	Americas Division Department of Political Affairs
Ms. Diana Russler	Office of the United Nations Security Coordinator Office of Conference and Support Services Department of Administration and Management
The Assistant Secretary-General for Human Resources Management or his representative as ex officio member	
Alternate members	
<u>Alternate members</u> Ms. Monique Corvington**	Interpretation, Meetings and Documentation Division Office of Conference and Support Services Department of Administration and Management
	Division Office of Conference and Support Services
Ms. Monique Corvington**	Division Office of Conference and Support Services Department of Administration and Management Statistical Division Department for Economic and Social
Ms. Monique Corvington** Ms. Cristina Hannig	Division Office of Conference and Support Services Department of Administration and Management Statistical Division Department for Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis West Asia Division
Ms. Monique Corvington** Ms. Cristina Hannig Ms. Linda Perkin**	Division Office of Conference and Support Services Department of Administration and Management Statistical Division Department for Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis West Asia Division Department of Political Affairs Europe Division

II. HEADQUARTERS APPOINTMENT AND PROMOTION COMMITTEE

Members

Ms. Vladislava Bartosch	Electronics Services Division Office of Conference and Support Services Department of Administration and Management
Ms. Gail Bindley-Taylor-Sainte**	Media Division Department of Public Information
Mr. Furio De Tomassi**	Division of Public Administration and Development Management Department for Development Support and Management Services
Mr. Alexandre Fedorchenko**	Translation and Editorial Division Office of Conference and Support Services Department of Administration and Management
Ms. Robin Ludwig	Electoral Assistance Division Department of Political Affairs
Mr. Lamin Sise	Office of the Assistant Secretary-General Department of Peace-keeping Operations
The Assistant Secretary-General for Human Resources Management or his representative as ex officio member	
Alternate members	
Ms. Mahnoush Arsanjani	Codification Division Office of Legal Affairs
Ms. Paulette Austin**	Division of Public Administration and Development Management Department for Development Support and Management Services
Mr. Anton Bronner**	Purchase and Transportation Division Office of Conference and Support Services Department of Administration and Management
Mr. Ralph Chipman	Division for Sustainable Development Department for Policy Coordination and Sustainable Development
Mr. Ransford Cline-Thomas**	Media Division Department of Public Information

Ms. Ana Luiza Cortez Macroeconomic and Social Analysis Division Department of Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis Ms. Sachiko Kuwabara-Yamamoto Codification Division Office of Legal Affairs Office of the Director Ms. Phyllis Lee Department of Humanitarian Affairs Ms. Mary Williams Silveira** Division for Sustainable Development Department for Policy Coordination and Sustainable Development Ms. Hania Zlotnik** Population Division Department of Economic and Social Information and Policy Analysis

3. Ms. Janine Lockshin will serve as Secretary of the Appointment and Promotion Board and of the Headquarters Appointment and Promotion Committee.
