

Distr. GENERAL

E/1996/91 19 July 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Substantive session for 1996 New York, 24 June-26 July 1996 Agenda item 1

ELECTIONS AND NOMINATIONS

Election of five members of the Programme Coordination Board of the Joint and Co-sponsored Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (HIV/AIDS)

Note by the Secretariat

1. Be decision 1995/223 of 5 May 1995, the Council decided that the Programme Coordination Board of the Joint and Co-sponsored Programme on Human Immunodeficiency Virus/Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (HIV/AIDS) should comprise 22 elected members, with the following distribution of seats:

- (a) Five seats for African States;
- (b) Five seats for Asian States;*
- (c) Two seats for Eastern European States;
- (d) Three seats for Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (e) Seven seats for Western European and other States.

By the same decision, the Council decided to continue informal consultations on various aspects of the election process.

2. At its resumed organizational and resumed substantive sessions for 1995, the Council elected 22 members of the Programme Coordination Board (Council decisions 1995/221 and 1995/230). The membership is given in the annex below.

^{*} Japan is included among the Asian States.

Annex

PROGRAMME COORDINATION BOARD OF THE JOINT AND CO-SPONSORED PROGRAMME ON HUMAN IMMUNODEFICIENCY VIRUS/ACQUIRED IMMUNODEFICIENCY SYNDROME (HIV/AIDS)

(22 members; three-year term)

Membership in 1996

Five seats for African States

Algeria (1997), Congo (1998), Côte d'Ivoire* (1996), South Africa (1997), Uganda (1998)

Five seats for Asian States

China (1997), India (1998), Japan (1997), Pakistan (1998), Thailand* (1996)

Two seats for Eastern European States

Bulgaria (1997), Russian Federation (1998)

Three seats for Latin American and Caribbean States

Barbados (1997), Mexico* (1996), Paraguay (1998)

Seven seats for Western European and other States

Australia* (1996), Canada* (1996), France (1998), Netherlands (1997), Sweden (1997), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (1997), United States of America (1998)

* Retiring member.
