

General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/36/294 3 June 1981

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-sixth session

Item 17 (d) of the preliminary list*

ELECTIONS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER ELECTIONS

Election of seven members of the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination (Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976, annex), the members of the Committee are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly for a term of three years.
- 2. The membership of the Committee in 1981 is as follows (see decision 35/315):

Argentina, ** Belgium, * Brazil, *** Costa Rica, ** France, ** India, *** Japan, *** Morocco, *** Norway, * Pakistan, * Philippines, *** Romania, * Senegal, *** Sudan, ** Trinidad and Tobago, * Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, ** United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, * United Republic of Cameroon, *** United Republic of Tanzania, ** United States of America ** and Yugoslavia *.

/...

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 1981.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 1982.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 1983.

^{*} A/36/50.

3. The General Assembly, at its thirty-sixth session, will therefore be called upon to elect seven members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination which will occur as a result of the expiration of the terms of office of Belgium, Norway, Pakistan, Romania, Trinidad and Tobago, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and Yugoslavia. In accordance with paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the Committee, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:

One member from Asian States;

One member from Latin American States;

Two members from socialist States of Eastern Europe;

Three members from Western European and other States.

- 4. By its decision 1981/134 of 7 May 1981, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its thirty-sixth session, for a term of three years, beginning on 1 January 1982:
 - (a) Asian States (one vacancy): Pakistan;
 - (b) Latin American States (one vacancy): Trinidad and Tobago;
 - (c) Socialist States of Eastern Europe (two vacancies): Romania and Yugoslavia;
- (d) <u>Western European and other States</u> (three vacancies): Germany, Federal Republic of, Netherlands, Norway and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.