



General Assembly

Distr.
GENERAL

A/51/108 28 May 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Fifty-first session
Item 18 (h) of the preliminary list*

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of members of the Joint Inspection Unit

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Articles 2, 3 and 4 of the statute of the Joint Inspection Unit (General Assembly resolution 31/192 of 22 December 1976, annex) provide as follows:

"Article 2

- "1. The Unit shall consist of not more than eleven Inspectors, chosen from among members of national supervision or inspection bodies, or from among persons of a similar competence on the basis of their special experience in national or international administrative and financial matters, including management questions. The Inspectors shall serve in their personal capacity.
 - "2. No two Inspectors shall be nationals of the same State.

"Article 3

"1. Starting from the thirty-second session of the General Assembly, in 1977, the President of the General Assembly shall consult with Member States to draw up, with due regard to the principle of equitable geographical distribution and of reasonable rotation, a list of countries

^{*} A/51/50.

which would be requested to propose candidates who meet the qualifications mentioned in article 2, paragraph 1, above.

"2. The President of the General Assembly, through appropriate consultations, including consultations with the President of the Economic and Social Council and with the Chairman of the Administrative Committee on Coordination, shall review the qualifications of the proposed candidates. After further consultations, if necessary, with the States concerned, the President of the General Assembly shall submit the list of candidates to the Assembly for appointment.

" . . .

"Article 4

- "1. The duration of the appointments of the Inspectors shall be five years, renewable for one further term \dots "
- 2. At present, the Joint Inspection Unit is composed as follows:
 - Mr. Andrzej Abraszewski (Poland)****
 - Mr. Fatih Bouayad-Agha (Algeria)*
 - Mr. John D. Fox (United States of America) ****
 - Mr. Homero Luis Hernández Sánchez (Dominican Republic)*
 - Mr. Boris Petrovitch Krasulin (Russian Federation)*
 - Mr. Sumihiro Kuyama (Japan) ***
 - Mr. Francesco Mezzalama (Italy)*
 - Mr. Wolfgang M. Munch (Germany) ****
 - Mr. Khalil Issa Othman (Jordan)*
 - Mr. Louis Dominique Ouedraogo (Burkina Faso)****
 - Mr. Raúl Quijano (Argentina) **

^{*} Term of office expires on 31 December 1997.

^{**} Term of office expires on 31 December 1998.

^{***} Term of office expires on 31 December 1999.

^{****} Term of office expires on 31 December 2000.

^{3.} Since the terms of office of Mr. Fatih Bouayad-Agha, Mr. Homero Luis Hernández Sánchez, Mr. Boris Petrovitch Krasulin, Mr. Francesco Mezzalama and Mr. Khalil Issa Othman will expire on 31 December 1997, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its fifty-first session to appoint five persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of five years, beginning on 1 January 1998.

- 4. Following the consultations described in article 3, paragraph 1, of the statute, the President of the General Assembly will draw up a list of countries that will be requested to propose candidates who meet the qualifications mentioned in article 2, paragraph 1.
- 5. After holding the consultations described in article 3, paragraph 2, of the statute, including consultations with the President of the Economic and Social Council and with the Secretary-General in his capacity as Chairman of the Administrative Committee on Coordination, the President of the General Assembly will submit the names of candidates to the General Assembly for appointment.
