

Distr. LIMITED

E/1996/L.10 1 April 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Resumed organizational session of 1996 2 and 3 May 1996 Agenda item 8

ELECTIONS, NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

Election of 17 members of the Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Intergovernmental Working Group of Experts on International Standards of Accounting and Reporting has 34 members. In accordance with resolutions 1982/67 and 1985/71, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session of 1996, 17 members of the Working Group for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1997, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 1996 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Brazil, China, France, Gabon, Germany, Kenya, Lebanon, Mexico, Morocco, Russian Federation, Senegal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia and Turkey.
- 2. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Five members from African States;
 - (b) Three members from Asian States;
 - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Six members from Western European and other States.
- 3. In addition, the Council has to elect one member from African States and two members from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1997, and one member from Latin American and Caribbean States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1996. These elections were postponed from a previous session.
- 4. The composition of the Working Group in 1996 is given in the annex below.

<u>Annex</u>

INTERGOVERNMENTAL WORKING GROUP OF EXPERTS ON INTERNATIONAL STANDARDS OF ACCOUNTING AND REPORTING

(34 members; three-year term)

Membership in 1996

Nine members from African States a/

Gabon* (1996), Kenya* (1996), Morocco* (1996), Nigeria (1997), Senegal* (1996), Sudan (1997), Swaziland (1997) and Tunisia* (1996)

Seven members from Asian States

China* (1996), Cyprus (1997), India (1997), Jordan (1997), Lebanon* (1996), Pakistan (1997), Thailand* (1996)

Three members from Eastern European States

Hungary (1997), Romania (1997), Russian Federation* (1996)

Six members from Latin American and Caribbean States b/

Brazil* (1996), Chile (1997), Mexico* (1996)

Nine members from Western European and other States

France* (1996), Germany* (1996), Italy (1997), Netherlands (1997), Spain* (1996), Sweden* (1996), Switzerland* (1996), Turkey* (1996), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (1997)

^{*} Retiring member.

 $[\]underline{a}$ / There is one vacancy in this group for a member whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 1997 (see para. 3 above).

 $[\]underline{b}/$ There are two vacancies in this group for members whose terms would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 1997, and one vacancy for a member whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 1996 (see para. 3 above).