/ . . .



Distr. LIMITED

E/1996/L.9 1 April 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Resumed organizational session for 1996 2 and 3 May 1996 Agenda item 8

# ELECTIONS, NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

### Election of 19 members of the Commission on Human Settlements

# Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Commission on Human Settlements has 58 members. Pursuant to General Assembly resolutions 32/162 of 19 December 1977, 40/202 of 17 December 1985 and 45/264 of 13 May 1991, the Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 1996, 19 members of the Commission on Human Settlements for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1997, to fill the vacancies created by the expiration on 31 December 1996 of the terms of the following members: Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Canada, China, France, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Lesotho, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malawi, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Somalia, Sweden, United Arab Emirates and Venezuela.
- 2. In accordance with paragraph 1 of section II of General Assembly resolution 32/162, the 19 members are to be elected on the following basis:
  - (a) Five seats for African States;
  - (b) Four seats for Asian States;
  - (c) Two seats for Eastern European States;
  - (d) Three seats for Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Five seats for Western European and other States.
- 3. In addition, the Council has to elect one member from African States and two members from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1999. These elections were postponed from a previous session.
- 4. The membership of the Commission in 1996 is given in the annex below.

96-07903 (E) 080496

#### **Annex**

### COMMISSION ON HUMAN SETTLEMENTS

(58 members; four-year term)

#### Membership in 1996

### Sixteen seats for African States a/

Algeria (1999), Cameroon (1998), Gabon (1998), Gambia (1998), Kenya (1999), Lesotho\* (1996), Libyan Arab Jamahiriya\* (1996), Madagascar\* (1996), Malawi\* (1996), Nigeria (1998), Somalia\* (1996), Sudan (1999), Uganda (1998), Tunisia (1999), Zimbabwe (1998)

### Thirteen seats for Asian States b/

China\* (1996), India (1999), Indonesia\* (1996), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (1998), Japan (1998), Jordan (1999), Kazakstan (1998), Pakistan (1998), Papua New Guinea\* (1996), Sri Lanka (1999), United Arab Emirates\* (1996)

# Six seats for Eastern European States

Azerbaijan\* (1996), Bulgaria (1999), Czech Republic (1999), Hungary\* (1996), Romania (1998), Russian Federation (1998)

## Ten seats for Latin American and Caribbean States

Bahamas\* (1996), Barbados (1999), Brazil (1998), Chile (1998), Colombia (1999), Costa Rica (1998), Dominican Republic (1998), Jamaica\* (1996), Mexico (1999), Venezuela\* (1996)

### Thirteen seats for Western European and other States

Canada\* (1996), Denmark (1999), Finland (1998), France\* (1996), Germany (1999), Italy\* (1996), Netherlands\* (1996), Norway (1999), Spain (1999), Sweden\* (1996), Turkey (1998), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (1998), United States of America (1998)

----

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.

 $<sup>\</sup>underline{a}/$  There is a vacancy in this group for a member whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 1999 (see para. 3 above).

 $<sup>\</sup>underline{b}$ / There are two vacancies in this group for members whose term would begin on the date of election and expire on 31 December 1999 (see para. 3 above).