

Distr. LIMITED

E/1996/L.8 1 April 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Resumed organizational session for 1996 2 and 3 May 1996 Agenda item 8

ELECTIONS, NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

Nomination of 20 members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Committee for Programme and Coordination has 34 members. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) and General Assembly decision 42/450, the Council is required to nominate 20 members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination for election by the General Assembly at its fifty-first session, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 1996 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Argentina, Belarus, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Comoros, Congo, Cuba, Germany, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Netherlands, Norway, Pakistan, Romania, Senegal, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The term is three years, beginning on 1 January 1997.
- 2. The Council is reminded that the General Assembly, in section III of its resolution 3392 (XXX) on the review of the intergovernmental and expert machinery dealing with the formulation, review and approval of programmes and budgets, encouraged Member States to be represented in the Committee for Programme and Coordination at an adequate level in order to raise the expertise of the Committee.
- 3. The vacancies are to be filled according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Four members from African States;
 - (b) Four members for Asian States;
 - (c) Three members from Eastern European States;

96-07897 (E) 080496 /...

- (d) Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (e) Five members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The membership of the Committee in 1996 is given in the annex below.

<u>Annex</u>

COMMITTEE FOR PROGRAMME AND COORDINATION

(34 members; three-year term)

Membership in 1996

Nine members from African States

Benin (1997), Cameroon* (1996), Comoros* (1996), Congo* (1996), Egypt (1998), Ghana (1997), Senegal* (1996), Togo (1998), Zaire (1998)

Seven members from Asian States

China (1998), India* (1996), Indonesia* (1996), Iran (Islamic Republic of)* (1996), Japan (1998), Pakistan* (1996), Republic of Korea (1998)

Four members from Eastern European States

Belarus* (1996), Russian Federation (1997), Romania* (1996), Ukraine* (1996)

Seven members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina* (1996), Bahamas (1997), Brazil* (1996), Cuba* (1996), Mexico (1997), Trinidad and Tobago* (1996), Uruguay (1998)

Seven members from Western European and other States

Canada* (1996), France (1997), Germany* (1996), Netherlands* (1996), Norway* (1996), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland* (1996), United States of America (1997)

^{*} Retiring member.